Seminar on Policy Practice I: Academic Articles

This research guide identifies some of the major resources that support research in the Seminar on Policy Practice at Columbia University's School of Social Work.

How to start looking for academic articles or studies

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). Scholarly journals are periodicals in which researchers publish articles on their work. Most often these articles discuss recent research. Journals also publish theoretical discussions and articles that critically review already published work. Scholarly journals are typically peer-reviewed journals. Some search engines that search for periodical sources identify whether or not the sources are from peer-reviewed publications. 

On this page you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, or make an appointment with a librarian. 

General, interdisciplinary databases:

  • ​​EBSCO: Best for social work research. Offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
  • JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
  • Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
  • ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. 
  • Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

For your course Policy Practice, your professor recommends:

  • Business Source Complete: Search over 3,000 business magazines and trade journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
  • China Academic Journals: Full text versions of Chinese academic periodicals in economics, politics, law, education, and social sciences. 
  • ERIC: Access to educational related literature.
  • HAPI: Citations to articles in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic Americans.
  • JSTOR: Provides full text articles in scholarly journal in many disciplines.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic: For Law Reviews and Case Law, click on "Search by Subject or Topic" tab on top right of search box. 

  • Medline: Created by the National Library of Medicine. You must select the database in EBSCO, by clicking "Choose databases." EBSCO does not automatically apply CINAHL, PsycINFO, or MEDLINE because of limited amounts of users at once. ​

  • PAIS: Find articles and research reports on international public policy, social and economic issues, and international relations.
  • SocIndex: Offers coverage criminology, demography, ethic studies, gender studies social development, social psychology, substance abuse, sociological theory, and more. 

 

More Guides:

Classes about policy are very interdisciplinary; this is not an exhaustive list of resources that may be useful to you. Do not forget about other research guides and tools: 

  • Last Updated: Aug 8, 2022 8:10 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/SOCW-T7143
  • Print Page
Subjects: Social Work
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us