Social Work Research Guide: Find Articles - Databases

For all three of these resources you must select the database in EBSCO, by clicking "Choose databases." EBSCO does not automatically apply CINAHL, PsycINFO, or MEDLINE because of limited amounts of users at once. 

CINAHL: This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. 

PsycINFO: American Psychological Association's resource for behavioral science and mental health resources. 

Medline (Via Ebscohost): Created by the National Library of Medicine. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook:  A comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments.

PsycARTICLES : Provides full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association. Covers general psychology as well as applied, clinical, developmental, and social psychology.

• Health and psychosocial instruments: Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

• Mental measurements yearbook: Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments ... contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership

• PsycTESTS: A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information." From the home page.

• Contemporary women's issues: Provides information about women in over 190 countries.
• Gender Studies Database: Women's studies, gender studies, feminist theory and criticism. Coverage 1972 to the present
• LGBT+ Source: Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
• Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.

• Sage Research: Coverage includes more than 555 SAGE journals, more than 175,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with original graphics and tables in the following disciplines: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
• Science Direct: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

• Sociological abstracts: Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
• Social services abstracts: Indexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

• American Psychological Association Grants
• Grants from Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
• Columbia University funding page

• Writing successful grant proposals (2016)

• Grant writing for dummies (2014)

• Guide to effective grant writing : how to write a successful NIH grant application (2012)

• The complete book of grant writing : learn to write grants like a professional (2012)

• All books in CLIO with the subject heading "Proposal writing for grants"

• American prison newspapers, 1800-2020

• Black freedom struggle in the United States : challenges and triumphs in the pursuit of equality This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom from 1790 - 2000 

• Digital Transgender Archive

• In response to the AIDS crisis : records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994

• Narcotic addiction and mental health the clinical papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr.

• Poverty, philanthropy and social conditions in Victorian Britain

• ProQuest history vault: African American Police League Records, 1961-1988

• ProQuest history vault. Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990: This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. 

• ProQuest history vault. Women at work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps: Contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps. 

• Public Health Archives : Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970

• The quest for labor equality in household work : National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979: The collection consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S) from 1965-1979. 

• Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Force Migration and World War II
• Sex & sexuality: Collaboration with the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections presents correspondence, research papers and records spanning the tenures of the first three Institute directors; Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993).

• Student activism:  75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country.