Black Civil Rights (Howard University, Law Library)
Provides an overview of Black Lives Matter along with linked resources.
Black Lives Matter
Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
Black Lives Matter International by Yuusuf Caruso
This posting from From Columbia University Libraries' Global Studies Blog provides an overview of Black Lives Matter along with linked resources.
Databases Focusing on Race or Ethnicity can usually be depended upon to yield a high level of relevant results. The databases listed in this box are a good place for you to begin your research. Depending on the nature of your research topic, you may find one or more of these databases to be sufficient. If you wish to to expand your research into a more extensive range of titles and articles, you should also try your search in one of the General Databases listed in the following box.
Black Life in America : the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to present (Newsbank)
This database is a subset of Access world news (see General Databases below). It's contents have been derived by running an algorithm designed to identify and harvest out articles related to Black life in America from that more general database.
Black Studies Center (ProQuest)
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and oral history videos. Resources accessible through Black Studies Center include: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, seven titles in the Historical Black Newspapers series, and The HistoryMakers® oral history video resource.
Ethnic diversity source (EBSCO)
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, videos, and primary source documents.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Coverage goes up to the present. Date of earliest coverage varies by title, with some titles going back as far as 1959.
Access world news (Newsbank) New: as of July 2021
A comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language. Updated daily.
EBSCOhost Research Databases ⇔SEARCHES ACROSS MANY DATABASES AT ONCE⇔
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a wide range of subject areas. Includes major access points for current and recent journal articles such as: Humanities Full Text; General Science Full Text; and Social Sciences Full Text. Also includes a number of more specialized resources such as Africa-Wide Information; Alternative Press Index; and Gender Studies Database. A substantial range of ebooks is also searchable here, as well as a series of historical magazines archives that provides cover-to-cover, full image access for major American magazines such as Business Week, Ebony, Life, Time, and Sports Illustrated.
ProQuest ⇔SEARCHES ACROSS MANY DATABASES AT ONCE⇔
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a wide range of subject areas, such as: news and world affairs; humanities; education; social sciences; literature; women's studies; business and economics; health and medical; science and technology; psychology; and law. Most of the content covered here is accessible in full text. Along with academic journals, ProQuest provides access to a wide range of newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. The span of articles covered stretches back as far as the 17th century and up to the present day.