African-American Studies: Encyclopedias, etc.
Search across Many Encyclopedias at Once
- Gale virtual reference library . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a large number of recent specialized encyclopedias in subject areas such as: the arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, library science, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science. - Oxford African American studies center : the online authority on the African American experience. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Among the core reference works included in the site are: Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; African American National Biography; Dictionary of African Biography; and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. - Oxford reference. This link opens in a new windowBrings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
Selected Encyclopedias of Interest
For a full and current list of items in CLIO that have the words
african americans encyclopedias in Subject, click here. Below I have singled out some titles that seem likely to be of interest.
African American Culture by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781440862458Publication Date: 2020-05-01Covering everything from sports to art, religion, music, and entrepreneurship, this book documents the vast array of African American cultural expressions and discusses their impact on the culture of the United States.
African American Literature by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781440871504Publication Date: 2019-11-15In preparing this volume, editors Ostrom and Macey have selected crucial entries from their Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature (5 vols., 2005) that address major writers, genres, and critical and historical contexts; and they have added a handful of new entries on contemporary writers in order to help readers form a solid foundation in African American literary studies.
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience.Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., / editors. 2nd. ed. 5 vols. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005)
Butler Reference, 301 Butler, Call Number: R960 Af8321
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive a strong emphasis, but the history and culture of blacks throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in Africa itself have an equally strong presence.
► This encyclopedia is one of the core reference works included in the site Oxford African American studies center.
Black Power Encyclopedia by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781440840067Publication Date: 2018-07-11Documents the Black Power Movement by its cultural representation and promotion of self-determination and self-defense, and showcases the movement's influence on Black communities in America from 1965 to the mid-1970s. Unlike the Civil Rights Movement's emphasis on the rhetoric and practice of nonviolence and social and political goal of integration, Black Power was defined by the promotion of Black self-determination, Black consciousness, independent Black politics, and the practice of armed self-defense. Black Power changed communities, curriculums, and culture in the United States and served as an inspiration for social justice internationally. This unique two-volume set provides readers with an understanding of Black Power's important role in the turbulence, social change, and politics of the 1960s and 1970s in America and how the concepts of the movement continue to influence contemporary Black politics, culture, and identity.
Dictionary of American History by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0684314150Publication Date: 2003-12-01The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by ISBN: 0028658167Publication Date: 2005-12-16Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of cultures, achievements,and challenges. Coverage includes North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Readers can find comparative analyses of social movements, languages, religions and family structures in the context of an interdisciplinary framework that fills a substantial gap in studies of this genre. While many articles from the original set have updated content and bibliographies, almost half of the second edition is composed of completely new scholarship.
Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895 : from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass. Paul Finkelman, editor-in-chief. 3 vols. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2006).
Butler Reference, 301 Butler, Call Number: R326 En195
► This encyclopedia is one of the core reference works included in the site Oxford African American studies center.
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present : from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century. Paul Finkelman, editor-in-chief. 5 vols. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2009).
Butler Reference, 301 Butler, Call Number: R326 En1951
► This encyclopedia is one of the core reference works included in the site Oxford African American studies center.
Encyclopedia of African American Society by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0761927646Publication Date: 2005-02-01The encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement, and contains hundreds of shorter articles on notable African Americans, groundbreaking events, sports and culture, labor and significant heritage sites.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26Surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. How is the West defined as a cultural region? What did the notions of "secession" and "union" mean to Americans living in the 1860s? How does Disney pervade and influence perceptions about America today? In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 076192762XPublication Date: 2004-12-09The concept for the encyclopedia was developed from the successful Journal of Black Studies and contains a wide-ranging analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. More than a chronicle of black culture or black people, this encyclopedia deals with the emergence and maturity of an intellectual field over the past four decades.
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780816072125Publication Date: 2012-01-01When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person--a sailor--set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country. From Canada to the Caribbean to Chile, they established vital economic and social institutions, championed the cause of abolition, and formed a bridge between the worlds of free whites and enslaved blacks. Free people of color in the United States and the Americas hold a unique status in global history. Historians have recently uncovered vast material on this important group, revealing how they lived, how they shaped society, and how they transformed the history of every nation in the Western Hemisphere. Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas is the first reference to cover this crucial subject and provides a wealth of information.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights by ISBN: 031332171XPublication Date: 2003-12-30This encyclopedia explores the African American struggle for freedom and equality--its successes and setbacks--from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century. Primary documents--personal vignettes, court cases, newspaper articles, and speeches--provide firsthand accounts and supplement the A-to-Z entries. An extensive timeline highlights key events.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature by ISBN: 0313329729Publication Date: 2005-09-30Butler Reference, 301 Butler,
Call Number: PS153.N5 G73 2005 Library has: v.1-5
With more than 1,000 entries by more than 200 expert contributors, this encyclopedia is a wide-ranging reference source on African American literature. While most of the entries are on individual authors, the encyclopedia gives special attention to the historical, cultural, and political contexts that have shaped African American writing. Included are entries on critical movements and terms, critics and scholars, historical and social issues, cultural and historical figures, literary forms and genres, literary schools and organizations, and many other topics. The entries cite numerous print and electronic resources, and the encyclopedia concludes with a selected, general bibliography.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780080970868Publication Date: 2015-04-02Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Organizing Black America: an Encyclopedia of African American Associations by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0203801199Publication Date: 2003-12-16With information on over 500 organizations, their founders and membership, this unique encyclopedia is an invaluable resource on the history of African-American activism. Entries on both historical and contemporary organizations include: * African Aid Society * African-Americans for Humanism * Black Academy of Arts and Letters * Black Women's Liberation Committee * Minority Women in Science * National Association of Black Geologists and Geophysicists * National Dental Association * National Medical Association * Negro Railway Labor Executives Committee * Pennsylvania Freedmen's Relief Association * Women's Missionary Society, African Methodist Episcopal Church * and many more.
The World of Jim Crow America: a Daily Life Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781440850813Publication Date: 2019-06-24This two-volume set is a thematically-arranged encyclopedia covering the social, political, and material culture of America during the Jim Crow Era. What was daily life really like for ordinary African American people in Jim Crow America, the hundred-year period of enforced legal segregation that began immediately after the Civil War and continued until the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Voting Rights Act of 1965? What did they eat, wear, believe, and think? How did they raise their children? How did they interact with government? What did they value? What did they do for fun? This Daily Life encyclopedia explores the lives of average people through the examination of social, cultural, and material history.
Handbooks and Companions
The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781107017122Publication Date: 2012-10-25This Companion provides a comprehensive overview of African American theatre, from the early nineteenth century to the present day. Leading scholars spotlight the producers, directors, playwrights and actors whose efforts helped to fashion a more accurate appearance of black life on stage, and reveal the impact of African American theatre both within the United States and further afield.
Handbook of African American Health by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 144199615XPublication Date: 2011-08-09The contributions to this Handbook uncover the specific demographic conditions of the African American population, and outline social interventions for both physical and mental health at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. The 26 contributions to this volume cover interventions for a diverse range of health problems. From a healthcare standpoint, it also examines specific interventions for treatment compliance, health care access, and community collaborations.
Handbook of Black Studies by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0761928405Publication Date: 2005-11-10The Handbook has three main divisions: historical and cultural foundations; philosophical and conceptual basis; and critical and analytical concepts.
The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780195188059Publication Date: 2012-04-18Seeks to answer the question of what the United States would look like today if, at the end of the Civil War, freed slaves had been granted full political, social and economic rights. It does so by tracing the historical evolution of African American experiences, from the dawn of Reconstruction onward, through the perspectives of sociology, political science, law, economics, education and psychology.
The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780199755653Publication Date: 2014-08-01Using an interdisciplinary approach, this Oxford Handbook examines the nature, structures, and functions of African American Theology. The volume surveys the field by highlighting its sources, doctrines, internal debates, current challenges, and future prospects in order to present key topics related to the wider palette of Black Religion in a sustained scholarly format. This formative collection presents current scholarship on African American Theology and scripture, eschatology, Christology, womanist theology, sexuality, ontology, the global economy, and much more. The contributors represent a diverse set of faith perspectives, adding to the layered discourses within the volume. These essays further important discussions on the pressing debates and challenges that shape black and womanist theologies.
The SAGE Handbook of African American Education by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781412937436Publication Date: 2008-07-17Reflects historical and current perspectives on African Americans in secondary and post-secondary education. Its content promotes inquiry and development of questions, ideas and dialogue about critical practice, theory, and research about African Americans in the United States educational system. The Handbook serves as a wide-ranging collection of scholarship that presents theoretical and empirical work on historical perspectives, teaching and learning, secondary school leadership, higher education, current issues, and education policy.
Research Guides
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Call Number: Butler Reference Desk R016.326 H26ISBN: 0674002768Publication Date: 2001This landmark guide covers research into every aspect of African-American life and work, offering a compendium of information and interpretation about almost 400 years of African-Americans' experiences as an ethnic group and as Americans. The first part of the Guide contains 12 essays on historical research aids, from traditional archival and reference materials to the Internet. The second and largest part presents comprehensive and chronological bibliographies, prepared by John Thornton, Peter H. Wood, Gary B. Nash, Stephanie Shaw, Richard J. M. Blackett, Eric Foner, Leon F. Litwack, Joe W. Trotter, Jeffrey Conrad Stewart, Nancy L. Grant, Darlene Clark Hine, Clayborne Carson, John H. Bracey, Adam Biggs, and Corey Walker. The third part contains listings of resources on the special subjects of women, prepared by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham; geographical areas; and autobiography and biography, prepared by Randall K. Burkett, Leon F. Litwack, and Richard Newman. A companion CD-ROM packaged with the book makes more than 15,000 bibliography entries available for computer searching.
