Find Country & Regional Information
- Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Brief profiles of most countries of the world. Includes information on government type and structure, names of major government officials, and an overview of foreign relations.
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
A country-by-country directory listing heads of state and major government officials.
- Country Studies - Library of Congress
Book-length country profiles previously published in hardcover by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998.
- CountryWatch forcast
A globally integrated 5-year macroeconomic forecast for each country of the world.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes country-specific reports covering such topis as: political background, recent political events and developments, presidential succession, political forces, and key political figures.
- Europa World Plus
Political, economic, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
- Freedom of Information Archive
Searchable database of over 3 million declassified government records from the United States. The History Lab has extracted named entities such as persons and topics to improve searchability, and includes other visualization and analytic features to facilitate navigation of the large corpus of documents. Includes select years from Foreign Relations of the United States, State Department Central Foreign Policy Files 1973-1979, US Declassified Documents Online (DDO) 1900-2008, Clinton E-Mail 2009-2013, UK Cabinet Papers 1907-1990, Azeredo da Silveira Papers (CPDOC) 1973-1979, and World Bank McNamara Records (World Bank) 1950-1981
- The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World. Joel Krieger, Ed. in Chief. 2nd ed.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: JA61 .O95 2001 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Political Parties of the World. 6th ed.
London : John Harper, 2005
Call Number: JF2051 .D39 2005g
- PARLINE Database
Information about parliaments in over 190 countries
- Political Handbook of the world
Contains entries on countries and territories around the world. It covers each country's political parties and includes names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.