Human Rights Studies: Background Research
Research guide for Human Rights Studies MA
Starting Your Research
If you are new to a topic or new to exploring the scholarly writing and research about a subject, these sources can provide valuable background, context, and direct you to additional quality sources.
Background Sources
- Annual reviews . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Essays that review research trends and publishing in a variety of disciplines and fields. Excellent way to discover sources related to your main subject area of interest. - International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / editors in chief Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classic 26 volume work describing the state of research across a range of fields in social and behavioral sciences. - International encyclopedia of the social sciences / William A. Darity, Jr., editor in chief. This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.
- Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new window"Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic." Excellent source to introduce you to the literature on a given topic. Browse and/or search bibliographies.
- Oxford handbooks online. This link opens in a new windowThe complete texts of the Oxford Handbooks, covering Law and Political Science. Articles provide great background on concepts and topics, including references to additional sources.
- Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy / edited by Edward N. Zalta. This link opens in a new windowExcellent resource for reviewing major philosophical theories, approaches etc.
Country and Regional Information
- Cambridge histories online . This link opens in a new window Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- CountryWatch.com : website to the world. This link opens in a new window Country Reviews provides comprehensive and up-to-date political, economic, cultural, business, and environmental information. Country Wire provides current country-specific news. Also includes colored maps. Country Bazaar provides sales information for a selection of country-specific books and music from around the world.
- EIU viewpoint This link opens in a new window Provides access to several EIU publications including Country Reports, Country Monitor, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and EIU ViewsWire. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts.
- This link opens in a new window
- EMIS This link opens in a new window Full-text news, financial and economic information on emerging market countries in Latin America, Central & Eastern Europe, East, South and Southeast Asia, Southeast Europe, Central Asia and Caucasus, Africa and Middle East.
- This link opens in a new window
- Europa world plus . This link opens in a new window Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
- This link opens in a new window
- Human Rights in the World United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
Human Rights Theory and History -- selected sources
Atlas of Human Rights by
In the post-9/11 world, governments are using the threat of terrorism to justify tightening national security and restricting basic human rights. This timely book addresses the implications of this trend, revealing human rights inequities from nation to nation and the consequences of these inequities worldwide. Inspired by the United Nations' Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Andrew Fagan considers the nature of the state, national identity, and citizenship. His comprehensive and succinct text explores judicial violations and legal restrictions that permit state-sponsored torture, indefinite detention, capital punishment, and police brutality. Vividly illustrated with colorful maps and charts, The Atlas of Human Rights charts both the progress and limitation of free expression and media censorship. It displays the areas that are beset with wars, conflict, migration, and genocide; details the geographic status of sexual freedom, racism, religious freedom, and the rights of the disabled; focuses on women's rights, sex slavery, and the rights of the child. As intolerance threatens diversity on a global scale, The Atlas of Human Rights serves as a crucial intervention to preserving and extending freedom.
Call Number: Lehman JC571 .F34 2010gISBN: 9780520261235Publication Date: 2010-08-02
Basic Documents on Human Rights by
This new edition of the established text Basic Documents on Human Rights provides an extensive collection of key documents covering all elements of the subject, accompanied by authoritative commentary and bibliographic annotation. The result is a clear and accurate set of the most important human rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organizations and other actors in the field.
ISBN: 9780199279838Publication Date: 2006-08-03
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law by
This one-of-a-kind Dictionary provides a comprehensive breakdown of terms employed in the discussion of international human rights law. In addition to a list of definitions, this innovative volume also includes an appendix featuring descriptions of major
ISBN: 9781782540700Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by ISBN: 9780028659923Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by
The "Encyclopedia of Global Justice" will serve as a complete reference for all key terms and concepts of global justice, broadly conceived. The question of justice across national boundaries, recently the focus of intense debate due to the ethical challenges of modern globalization, spans the range from extreme global egalitarianism to various kinds of extended nationalism and limited globalism. The topic covers several disciplines and raises both theoretical and applied issues in such areas as relations among nations, world poverty, human rights, global development, environmental concerns, and the justifiability of military conflicts, among others. The "Encyclopedia "reflects this reality and provides an interdisciplinary approach that combines empirical research with theoretical arguments, drawing terms and concepts from political philosophy and theory, ethics, international law and legal theory, development economics, public policy, and applied ethics, including legal, business, medical, military, religious, environmental, and feminist ethics as they relate to all aspects of global justice. Because the term "global justice" is itself a matter of contention, prompting questions regarding how it relates to and differs from "international justice," an important part of the project is to clarify such definitional issues and include entries that seek to address the related methodological concerns. The goal of this timely and comprehensive encyclopedia is to provide a premier reference guide for students, scholars, policy makers, and others interested in assessing the moral consequences of global interdependence and understanding the concepts and arguments that shed light on the myriad aspects of global justice. The "Encyclopedia" will be organized in A-to-Z format with cross-referencing of entries around a series of broad themes, making it convenient for students, scholars, and general readers to access the relevant entries on a specific theme.
ISBN: 9781402091605Publication Date: 2012-01-23
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
Winner of the 2010 Dartmouth Medal, this major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice. In addition to providing original analytical articles covering standard subjects such as the right to health and health care, Amnesty International, the Balkan wars, and former President of Ireland Mary Robinson, it offers innovative coverage of such subjects as the Internet, intellectual property rights, the American civil rights movement, globalization, and Brazil in historical context. Focusing primarily on developments since 1945, it offers an unrivaled reference source for students and researchers; even human rights experts are likely to find much original material and keen insights in many of the entries. KEY SUBJECT AREAS INCLUDE: ORGANIZATIONS AND INSTITUTIONS: American Civil Liberties Union, World Health Organization, UNICEF, Carter Center LEADING FIGURES: Adolf Hitler, Steve Biko, Elie Wiesel, Simone de Beauvoir, Joseph Stalin, Eleanor Roosevelt, Pol Pot, Shirin Ebadi, Kim Jong Il HUMAN RIGHTS EVENTS AND CRISES: Darfur, Irish Famine, Soviet Gulag, Central America in the 1980s, Colonialism, Belgian Congo, AIDS HUMAN RIGHTS NORMS: Ethnic Cleansing, Women's Rights, Religious Freedom, Torture: International Law, Disability Rights
ISBN: 9780195334029Publication Date: 2009-08-11
An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States by
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.
ISBN: 9781592372904Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Handbook of Sociology and Human Rights by
Long the province of international law, human rights now enjoys a renaissance of studies and new perspectives from the social sciences. This landmark book is the first to synthesize and comprehensively evaluate this body of work. It fosters an interdisciplinary, international, and critical engagement both in the social study of human rights and the establishment of a human rights approach throughout the field of sociology. Sociological perspectives bring new questions to the interdisciplinary study of human rights, as amply illustrated in this book. The Handbook is indispensable to any interdisciplinary collection on human rights or on sociology. This text: Brings new perspectives to the study of human rights in an interdisciplinary fashion. Offers state-of-the-art summaries, critical discussions of established human rights paradigms, and a host of new insights and further research directions. Fosters a comprehensive human rights approach to sociology, topically representing all 45 sections of the American Sociological Association.
ISBN: 9781315634227Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by
While the idea of human rights and humanitarian assistance has ancient roots evidence can be seen in such examples as the Ten Commandments, the Bhagavad Gita, and the teachings of Confucius and Socrates it wasn't until the 1800s that the first modern humanitarian and human rights organizations came to be. The 19th century saw the beginning of the abolitionist movement, the forming of a variety of women's suffrage organizations, the formation and consolidation of national labor unions, and the founding of the Red Cross. This was followed by the inextricably intertwined story of war, persecution, violence, and the growth of human rights and humanitarian organizations in the 20th century. Bearing witness to some of the most horrific and blatant violations of human dignity, the 20th century also beheld the first sustained global efforts to promote human rights at the international level. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations thoroughly revises the first edition, following major new developments in the arena of human rights since its publication, including the emergence of terrorism and international responses to it; the establishment of an international criminal court; the evolution of regional human rights bodies in Africa, Europe, and Latin America; and the proliferation of new non-governmental organizations and foundations dedicated to the promotion of human rights. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, photographs, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries covering many of the key treaties, agreements, and definitions of human rights concepts; important humanitarian organizations, whether private, governmental, national, or international; and significant persons and events. This realistic assessment of the advances in protection of human rights and the major difficulties still facing them is an excellent tool for students, practitioners, and libraries."
ISBN: 9780810855489Publication Date: 2007-03-16
Human Rights and the United States by
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.
ISBN: 9781682173466Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Research Handbook on Human Rights and Digital Technology by ISBN: 9781785367717Publication Date: 2019-01-25
The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights by
The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights offers a comprehensive and contemporary survey of the key themes, approaches and debates in the field of media and human rights. The Companion is the first collection to bring together two distinct ways of thinking about human rights and media, including scholarship that examines media as a human right alongside that which looks at media coverage of human rights issues. This international collection of 49 newly written pieces thus provides a unique overview of current research in the field, while also providing historical context to help students and scholars appreciate how such developments depart from past practices. The volume examines the universal principals of freedom of expression, legal instruments, the right to know, media as a human right, and the role of media organisations and journalistic work. It is organised thematically in five parts: Communication, Expression and Human Rights Media Performance and Human Rights: Political Processes Media Performance and Human Rights: News and Journalism Digital Activism, Witnessing and Human Rights Media Representation of Human Rights: Cultural, Social and Political. Individual essays cover an array of topics, including mass-surveillance, LGBT advocacy, press law, freedom of information and children's rights in the digital age. With contributions from both leading scholars and emerging scholars, the Companion offers an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach to media and human rights allowing for international comparisons and varying perspectives. The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights provides a comprehensive introduction to the current field useful for both students and researchers, and defines the agenda for future research.
ISBN: 9781138665545Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Routledge Handbook of Human Rights and Climate Governance by ISBN: 9781315312552Publication Date: 2018-02-15
The SAGE Handbook of Human Rights by
The SAGE Handbook of Human Rights will comprise a two volume set consisting of more than 50 original chapters that clarify and analyze human rights issues of both contemporary and future importance. The Handbook will take an inter-disciplinary approach, combining work in such traditional fields as law, political science and philosophy with such non-traditional subjects as climate change, demography, economics, geography, urban studies, mass communication, and business and marketing. In addition, one of the aspects of mainstreaming is the manner in which human rights has come to play a prominent role in popular culture, and there will be a section on human rights in art, film, music and literature. Not only will the Handbook provide a state of the art analysis of the discipline that addresses the history and development of human rights standards and its movements, mechanisms and institutions, but it will seek to go beyond this and produce a book that will help lead to prospective thinking.
ISBN: 9780857029935Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Human Rights Reference Sources in CLIO
Explore newly acquired reference sources in human rights at Columbia Libraries. Click on "website" below to jump into CLIO.
Loading ...
Featured Resources
- Human rights documents online This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of documents and reports published by 400+ NGOs, from the 1970s to the present. Great source for locating difficult-to-find publications, especially from organizations or programs that are no longer active.
- Human rights studies online. This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video and spans 1900-2010.