Hands-on History: Making and Knowing in Early Modern Europe: Online Databases with Recipes
Columbia Subscription Databases
- British Literary Manuscripts Online. This link opens in a new windowBritish Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
- Digital scriptorium . This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts, intended to unite scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research
- Early English books online . This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full-text page images of of about 100,000 of the 1250,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
- Early European books This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries held in European libraries including the BnF, Biblioteca Nazionale in Florence, and the Wellcome. Full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts as well as marginalia and annotations (when extant). - Electronic Enlightenment / University of Oxford Humanities Division. This link opens in a new windowSearchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
- Global commodities : trade, exploration & cultural exchange. This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, including chocolate, tobacco, wheat, and tea.
- Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic resources for researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases and provides online access to Paul Oskar Krisetller's Iter Italicum (a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts). - Perdita manuscripts : women writers, 1500-1700. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isle during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include account books, advice, culinary writing, medical recipes, travel writing, and verse. Each manuscript can be downloaded as a PDF.
Free Online Resources
- Bibliothèque numérique Medic@Réalisée par le Service d’Histoire de la santé de la Bibliothèque interuniversitaire de santé, la collection Medic@ réédite, sous forme électronique accessible gratuitement en ligne, des documents anciens appartenant pour la plupart au fonds de la bibliothèque : monographies, thèses, articles, périodiques, manuscrits.
- The Chymistry of Isaac NewtonProject run by scholars the University of Indiana Bloomington featuring Newton's alchemical recipes, notebooks, an alchemical glossary and symbol guide.
- E-Codices: The Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland ProjectSince 2005 e-codices has been digitizing manuscripts from all regions of Switzerland. The current total is 1,290 manuscripts and the collection is still growing. You can browse or search by collection, century, person, etc.
- The Food TimelineA very thorough and lengthy timeline on the history of food around the world throughout history.
- The Historical Cookery PageNot a scholarly resource. More like an online compendium of historical recipes submitted by self-proclaimed 'historical cooks.' Still, a useful site!
- le Cnum: Conservatoire numérique des Arts et Métiers - retour page d'accueil Conservatoire numérique des Arts et MétiersLe Conservatoire numérique des Arts et Métiers (Cnum) est une bibliothèque numérique consacrée à l’histoire des sciences et des techniques. Conçu en 2000, le Cnum est alors un projet commun de la bibliothèque centrale, du Centre d’histoire des techniques et de l’environnement (CDHTE) et du Centre d’études et de recherche en informatique et communications (CEDRIC) du Cnam. Constitué initialement à partir des fonds patrimoniaux de la bibliothèque centrale, le Cnum propose la consultation en ligne d’une collection d’ouvrages et de périodiques francophones, traitant des sciences et des techniques.
- The Medici Archive ProjectIncluding the new BIA database for accessing the epistolary collections of the Florentine Grand Dukes. This resource is indispensable to those working on the Medici family and on Renaissance Europe. It contains over three million letters and documents from the Medici Granducal Archive- search "ricetta" or "ricette" to find medicinal recipes in the correspondence.
- Monumenta Culinaria et Diaetetica HistoricaCorpus of culinary & dietetic texts of Europe from the Middle Ages to 1800. There is an emphasis on German materials, but there are also full-text sources in Italian, French, Latin and Dutch.
- The Wellcome Library Digital Recipe Books CollectionSee also their Arabic manuscripts: http://wellcomelibrary.org/collections/digital-collections/arabic-manuscripts/.