Online Courses and Resources
Paleography Resources from the Newberry Library
Paleography Resources from Yale University
T-Pen- a web-based tool for working with images of manuscripts. Users attach transcription data (new or uploaded) to the actual lines of the original manuscript in a simple, flexible interface. Allows you to practice your paleography/transcription skills in a free, open online environment.
Need Help?
Reference Sources: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Bibliographies
The Craft of Lymmyng and the Maner of Steynyng: Middle English recipes for painters, stainers, scribes, and illuminators by
This volume contains a collection of new editions of all the known fourteenth- and fifteenth-century Middle English technical recipes for painters, strainers, scribes, illuminators, and dyers, written c. 1300-1500. Most are previously unpublished and many are previously unknown. The collection contains 125 sets of recipes (around 1500 individual recipes), taken from 95 manuscripts, and forms the largest published corpus of such recipes in any language.These anonymous craft recipes describe the preparation of materials, outline their uses, advise on decorative effects, and confide tricks of the trade. In addition to recipes for conventional painting and illuminating are a number for 'staining' (figurative painting on cloth) which provide the only practical information on this one widely-practised, but now lost, English medium. The editor also identifies for the first time the earliest surviving recipes for block printing on textiles.
Call Number: Ancient & Medieval Reading Room (603 Butler) PR1119 .A2 no.347ISBN: 9780198789086Publication Date: 2016
Alchemy by Call Number: Butler Reference R016.5 H67ISBN: 0893145424Publication Date: 1985A comprehensive bibliography of the Manly P. Hall Collection of books and manuscripts : including related material on Rosicrucianism and the writings of Jacob BoehmeAlchemy by
Call Number: Butler Reference R016.5 P939ISBN: 0710004729Publication Date: 1989A bibliography of English-language writings on alchemy.- Alchemy in Europe: A Guide to Research by Call Number: Butler Stacks Z5524.A35 K74 1990ISBN: 0824085388Publication Date: 1990
The Diner's Dictionary by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780199640249Publication Date: 2012Did you know that croissant" literally means "crescent" or that oranges are native to China? Do you realize that the word "pie" has been around for seven hundred years in English or that "toast" comes from the Latin word for "scorch"? From absinthe to zabaglione, this lively guide presents the meaning and origin of over 2,300 food and drink terms. From basic ingredients to herbs, spices, and traditional dishes to more exotic products and delicacies, this book offers a feast of classicfood and recipe terms as well as new additions to our gastronomic vocabulary over recent years such as Kobe beef, goji berry, latte, and wrap.Larousse Gastronomique by
Call Number: Butler Stacks TX349 .M613ISBN: 0517503336Publication Date: 1988The premier encyclopedia of food, wine, and cookery.Printed Cookbooks in Europe, 1470-1700 by
Call Number: Butler Reference TX723.5.A1 N69 2010ISBN: 9781584562535Publication Date: 2010This is the first bibliography to list all known editions of printed cookbooks published in Europe before 1700. More than a hundred titles in at least 650 editions were printed in fourteen different languages. Some household encyclopedias with culinary sections have also been included. Many of the editions described have never before been listed in modern bibliographies. The bibliography gives the full title and physical description of each work. Annotations provide details about contents, biographical data about authors and publishers, information about the sources of the recipes, translations, and plagiarisms. A historical introduction analyzes the development of the cookbook as a genre during the first two centuries of printing, with reference to authorship, publishing history, didactic methods, culinary processes, and differences in gender.
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine by Call Number: Butler Stacks Q124.97 .M43 2005ISBN: 0415969301Publication Date: 2005Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine details the whole scope of scientific knowledge in the medieval period in more than 300 A to Z entries. Coverage includes inventions, discoveries, concepts, places and fields of study, regions, and significant contributors to various fields of science. There are also entries on South-Central and East Asian science.
Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: Early Modern/Modern Europe Reading Room Q121 .B87 2003ISBN: 1576078868Publication Date: 2003The first introductory A-Z resource on the dynamic achievements in science from the late 1600s to 1820, including the great minds behind the developments and science's new cultural role.
