Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, oral-history videos, and much more.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Allows you to search simultaneously across dozens of key databases in a variety of areas of study. Includes America: History and Life (the core database for American history) as well as some of the key databases for: Art, Architecture, Business, Education, Gender Studies, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences, and Science. An excellent search environment for finding academic journal articles on interdisciplinary topics.
A powerful tool for searching across a vast range of news media including: newspapers; trade publications that reflect the concerns of specific industries; newswires; Web versions of newspapers and magazines; and selected social media content. Extremely strong for information about current and recent topics. Coverage is fully up to date, and it can stretch back as far as 35 years for some publications. International in scope. For ease of searching, select "Search Form" option.
iPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
A key resource for statistics reflecting public opinion in the United States. Coverage extends from 1935 to the present and includes opinion surveys done by every major US survey firm – over 150 organizations. Includes more than 600,000 opinion polling questions with corresponding response data.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography.
ProQuest Congressional (1789-present)
Many issues of public concern in American Studies have been discussed in Congress at some time or other. Proquest Congressional provides full-text searchable access to most types of congressional publications--beginning in 1789 and going up, in many cases, to the present. Here you can find reports prepared to provide information to Congress (CRS reports); hearings in which issues are debated at length; and other documents published by the House or the Senate.
Proquest (includes Historical Newspapers)
Provides extensive coverage of news sources, including titles in the ProQuest Historical Newspapers series (in which coverage of each title begins with its first published issue). Although somewhat comparable to EBSCOhost Research Databases (above), another tool that allows you to search across dozens of databases, the databases are DIFFERENT and thus your results will be different. You will find it useful to search them both.