Africa and Black Internationalism since c1800 CE: Home

General Reference

  • Africa : an encyclopedia of culture and society. 3 vols. Edited by Toyin Falola and Daniel Jean-Jacques. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2016)
    --See also: E-book
  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-) Print version
    --See also: Europa world plus Online
  • An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. Compiled by Norbert C. Brockman. (New York: Grey House Pub., c2006) (667 p.)
    --See also: E-book
  • The African diaspora : a musical perspective. E-book. Edited by Ingrid Monson. (New York : Routledge, 2005).
  • African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. (New York : Routledge, 2004).
    --See also: E-book
  • Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005)
  • The African Union: legal and institutional framework : a manual on the pan-African organization. Edited by Abdulqawi A. Yusuf and Fatsah Ouguergouz. (Dar es Salaam : Mkuki na Nyota, 2015)
    --See also: Law Library copy
  • Adi, Hakim and Marika Sherwood. Pan-African history : political figures from Africa and the diaspora since 1787. (London ; New York : Routledge, 2003)
    --See also: EBSCO E-book -and- Taylor & Francis E-book
  • Arabic literature of Africa. 5 vols. Edited by John O. Hunwick and R.S. O'Fahey. (Leiden; New York: E.J. Brill, 1994-)
    --See also: Volumes 1-4 online
  • Area Handbook series [historical]. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
    • For the handbook of a country, search in CLIO: use country name and "area handbook".
    • For available online handbooks on Africa, see section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
  • Armes, Roy. Dictionary of African filmmakers. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2008).
  • The Cambridge companion to Nelson Mandela. Edited by Rita Barnard. (New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 2014.)
    --See also: E-book
  • Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
  • Dictionary of African Christian biography. (Online) (Overseas Ministries Study Center, New Haven, Connecticut)
  • Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American biography. E-book. Edited by Franklin W. Knight and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. ([Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2016)
  • Directory of world cinema. Africa. Edited by Blandine Stefanson and Sheila Petty. (Bristol, UK : Intellect Books, 2014)
  • Encyclopedia of Africa. 2 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010)
  • Encyclopedia of African history. 3 vols. Edited by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
    --See also: E-book
  • Encyclopedia of African religion. 2 vols. Edited by Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama. (Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009)
    --See also: E-book
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Edited by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007)
  • Falola, Toyin. Key events in African history : a reference guide. (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002)
    --See also: E-Book
  • Falola, Toyin. Writing the history of the African Diaspora. E-book. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2024)
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. 10 vols. Music Online. (Alexandria, Virginia: Alexander Street Press, 1998-2017).
  • The Garland handbook of African music. EBSCO e-book. Edited by Ruth M. Stone. (New York: Routledge, 2008)
    --See also: Taylor & Francis e-book
  • Gray, John. Afro-Brazilian music : a bibliographic guide. (Nyack, New York : African Diaspora Press, 2014)
  • Gray, John. Afro-Cuban music : a bibliographic guide. (Nyack, N.Y. : African Diaspora Press, 2012)
  • Gray, John. Music of Sub-Saharan Africa : an international bibliography and resource guide. (Nyack, New York : African Diaspora Press, 2018)
  • Handbook of Africa's international relations. Edited by Tim Murithi. (London : Routledge, 2014)
    --See also: E-book
  • Handbook of Black studies. Edited by Molefi Kete Asante and Maulana Karenga. (Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006)
    --See also: E-book
  • Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
    ---For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".
  • Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990)
  • Islam in Africa (1974-2019). Compiled by Paul Schrijver and updated by ASCL Library. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Afrikastudiecentrum = African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, 2018) --via AfricaBib.Org
  • Mendez-Mendez, Serafín, Gail A. Cueto, and Neysa Rodríguez Deynes. Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans : a biographical dictionary. (Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2003)
  • New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008.
    --See also: E-book
  • Oxford African American studies center. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2006-)
    Includes over 7500 reference articles, selected primary sources, images, maps, charts and tables, and over 6000 biographies.

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The Oxford companion to Black British history. Edited by David Dabydeen, John Gilmore, and Cecily Jones. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007)
    --See also: E-book
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of African historiography : methods and sources. Thomas Spear, editor in chief. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2019)
    --See also: E-book
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo. 2 vols. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2010)
  • The Oxford handbook of modern African history. Edited by John Parker and Richard Reid. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2013)
    --See also: E-Book
  • Oxford research encyclopedias--African history Online. (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The Palgrave handbook of African social ethics. E-book. Edited by Nimi Wariboko and Toyin Falola. (Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan, 2020)
  • Rake, Alan. African leaders: guiding the new millennium. (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001)
  • Routledge handbook of Afro-Latin American studies. E-book. Edited by Bernd Reiter and John Antón Sánchez. (New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2023)
  • Routledge handbook of Pan-Africanism. E-book. Edited by Reiland Rabaka. (London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2020)
  • Véron, Kora and Thomas A. Hale. Les écrits d'Aimé Césaire : biobibliographie commentée ; 1913-2008. 2 vols. (Paris : Champion, 2013)
  • West Africa over 75 years: selections from the raw material of history. Kole Omotoso et al., researchers; Kaye Whiteman, editor. (London: West Africa, 1993)
  • World Bibliographical Series. (Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999)
    For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".
  • World biographical information system--African Biographical Archive [Online] ([Munich] : K. G. Saur, 2004-2010)
  • Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)
    --See also: E-book
  • Yearbook on the African Union, 2020--. E-book. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Brill, 2022-- )

    • Library Catalogs

  • CLIO
    (All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

  • Pegasus (Law Library)
    --For access, see Law Library Guide
  • Educat (Teachers College)
  • More Catalogs
  • WorldCat

    • Indexes: Articles, Book Chapters, Books

  • Africa-Wide Information. via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--)
    Combine with America: History and Life Historical Abstracts ; MLA International ; Social Sciences Full Text ; and, Race Relations Abstracts

  • AnthropologyPlus. via EBSCO. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC)

  • Black studies center. (Cambridge, MA: ProQuest)

  • Cairn.info. (Liege, France) Index to full-text French language journal articles & e-books.

  • HAPI--Hispanic American Periodical Index. (Los Angeles, Calif.: UCLA Latin American Center)

  • Historical Abstracts. via EBSCO. (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO)

  • MLA International Bibliography. (New York: Modern Language Association of America)

  • PAIS Index. via ProQuest. (New York: Public Access Information Service)

  • Proquest Black Studies ([Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest)

    • Atlases and Maps

  • Asante, Molefi Kete and Mark T. Mattson. The historical and cultural atlas of African Americans. New York : Macmillan ; Toronto : Collier Macmillan ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1991.

  • Columbia University. Lehman Social Sciences Library Map Room, 2nd Floor,

  • Earle, Jonathan Halperin, The Routledge atlas of African American history. E-book. New York ; Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2000.

  • Eltis, David and David Richardson. Atlas of the transatlantic slave trade. (New Haven, [Connecticut] ; London, [England] : Yale University Press, 2010)
    --See also: E-book

  • Freeman-Grenville, G.S.P. The new atlas of African history. (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991).

  • Griffiths, I.L. An atlas of African affairs. 2nd ed. (New York: Routledge, 1994)
    See also: Lehman Reference copy.

  • Historical atlas of Africa. Ed. by J.F. Ade Ajayi et al. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985).
    See also: Butler Reference copy

  • Kwamena-Poh, Michael et al. African history in maps. (London; New York: Longman, 1982).

  • Maps and Power in Modern African History. (Columbia University Libraries)

  • Maps of Africa on the Internet. (Columbia University Libraries)

    • Citation Management

  • The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

  • Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero)

  • Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

  • Guide to Citing Government Documents

  • Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook.
    5th ed. Boston : Bedford Books, c1998.
    --See also: 6th ed.

    • African Studies Librarian

    Profile Photo
    Yuusuf Caruso
    Contact:
    Columbia University
    309 Lehman Library
    Global Studies
    420 West 118th Street
    New York, NY 10027 USA
    212-854-8045
    caruso@columbia.edu
    Website
    • Last Updated: Sep 25, 2024 6:16 PM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/africa-black-internationalism
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us