Africa and Black Internationalism since c1800 CE: Full Text Journals, Documents, Archives, Audio-Visual, Theses

Digital Libraries -- Full Text Historical Documents, Images, Literature, Sound, Video

  • African and African Diaspora -- Contemporary World Music and Jazz Online
    • Alexander Street Music Online: Contemporary World Music. (Alexandria, VA)
      Columbia faculty and students only
    • Alexander Street Music Online: Jazz Music Library. (Alexandria, VA)
      Columbia faculty and students only. "A collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today."
    • Naxos Music Library: Jazz. (Hong Kong ; Franklin, TN : Naxos Digital Services)
      Columbia faculty and students only. "Includes thousands of titles online of the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Works may be searched by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number."
  • African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Ghana & Togo Under Colonial Rule, 1843-1957; Kenya, 1907-1964 ; Nigeria & the British Cameroons, 1887-1962 ; and, Uganda, 1903-1961.
    British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Black studies center. Cambridge, MA: ProQuest.
    A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, & reference books.

  • Black thought and culture : African Americans from Colonial times to the present [Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, 2003-
    Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others, including The Black Panther Party (1969-1976) publications ; selected e-books and documents on American race relations, US-Africa relations, etc.

  • Black women writers [Alexandria, VA] : Alexander Street Press, [2006]- --via Proquest
    BWW consists of about 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.

  • Caribbean literature. [Alexandria, VA] : Alexander Street Press, [2006]- --via Proquest
    A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Colonial Caribbean: Colonial Office Files from the National Archives, UK. (1624-1870) (Adam Matthew Digital, Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK)
    "Includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords."

  • Colonial Law in Africa: African Government Gazettes, 1808-1919 ; 1920-1945 ; 1946-1966
    British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
     
  • Duke University Libraries and Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee Legacy Project:
    SNCC Digital Gateway (Durham, North Carolina)

  • Emory University: Slave Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Atlanta, Georgia)

  • Harvard University: Liberated Africans (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
    Selected trial proceedings, registers, labor contracts, anti-slavery legislation, correspondence, images, and photographs.

  • The HistoryMakers. Chicago, IL : HistoryMakers, 199--
    Oral histories and interviews focused on a wide range of "African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion & beauty, business, military, politics and sports."

  • NAACP Papers. (1909-1972) [Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest, [2012-]
    Digitized records of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

  • Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)

  • PANAFEST '66 '69 '74 '77 (Dominique Malaquais, Cédric Vincent ...[et al.], Chimurenga, Cape Town, South Africa)
    An open access, web documentary site --in French and some English-- featuring videos of over 50 interviews with participants in the 4 key international pan-African festivals in Africa during the period 1966-1977: FESMAN--First World Festival of Negro Arts (Dakar, 1966); PANAF--First Pan-African Cultural Festival (Algiers, 1969); Festival Zaïre 74 (Kinshasa, 1974) ; and FESTAC--Second World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture (Lagos, 1977).
    --Related print: FESTAC '77 : 2nd World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture. Decomposed, an-arranged and reproduced by Chimurenga ; misdirections in music by Ntone Edjabe.
    [Cape Town] : Chimurenga ; [London] : Afterall Books, 2019. (445 p.)
    --FESTAC: The Second World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture: A Partial Documentation. By Abdul Alkalimat.
    This website is a digital collection of official documents handed to participants, some of the papers presented, video documentaries, and articles written about FESTAC.
    --"Culture in Action: Dialogues on the Future of a Common Black Identity," May 23, 1977. Audio recording, 92 minutes in length. By Charlie Cobb. (Minnesota Public Radio Archive, Minneapolis, MN)
    Black scholars from Africa, Latin America and the United States discuss prospects for a united black movement. The scholars were in Africa for FESTAC 77, Lagos, Nigeria.
    --First World Festival of Negro Arts. Videorecording. Directed and written by William Greaves ; a production of the Motion Picture and Television Service of the United States Information Agency.
    New York, N.Y. : Distributed by WIlliam Greaves Productions, 2005.
    --Related print: Murphy, David. The First World Festival of Negro Arts, Dakar 1966 : contexts and legacies. Liverpool : Liverpool University Press, 2016.
    --Festival panafricain d'Alger: film culte et méconnu! ; Eldridge Cleaver, black panther. Videorecording. Un film de William Klein. [France] : Arte Editions, [2010]
    --Related print: All-African Cultural Festival (1st : 1969 : Algiers, Algeria) 1er festival culturel panafricain, Alger, 1969. Textes réunis et présentés par Omar Mokhtari. [Alger] : Éditions Actualité Algérie, [1970].
    --Soul power. Videorecording. Sony Pictures Classics ; DASFilms Ltd. presents ; an Antidote Films production of ; a film by Jeffrey Levy-Hinte ; produced and directed by Jeffrey Levy-Hinte ; produced by David Sonenberg, Leon Gast. [United States] : Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, [2010]

  • Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)

  • Umbra: Search African American History (University of Minnesota, Minneaspolis)
    "A freely available widget and search tool, featuring digital copies of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections, the Digital Public Library of America, and other partner institutions around the country."

  • United States. Federal Bureau of Investigation. Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984. Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale, a part of Cengage Learning, c2010.

  • University of Wisconsin: On-Line Data Archive--Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (Madison, Wisconsin)

  • Vanderbilt University: Slave Societies Digital Archive (Nashville, Tennessee)
    Selected records from Catholic Church archives, especially for the history of Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Spanish Florida, Ouidah (Benin), and Luanda (Angola).
  • Dissertations, Theses

  • The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
     
  • Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
     
  • Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
     
  • Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
    Masters' thesis repository
     
  • Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
     
  • Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)
  • Archives Elsewhere in the United States

  • Black Internationalists
  • Directory of Caribbean Digital Scholarship (Prof. Kaiama Glover, Dr. Alex Gil, and Prof. Kelly Baker Josephs, The Caribbean Digital, New York)

  • The New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
    --See especially: Manuscripts, Archives, & Rare Books
     
  • The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) & Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)
    -- Search CRL/CAMP catalog
     
  • US National Archives and Records Administration
     
  • The Library of Congress--African & Middle East Reading Room
    --Search LC catalog