Advertising Research Guide: Advertising Data
Database
- Ad*Access / John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History. This link opens in a new windowPresents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
- American consumer culture : market research & American business, 1935-1965. This link opens in a new windowCollection of proposals, pilot studies, advertisements, reports, memorandums, letters, and supporting material created by Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research.
- J. Walter Thompson : Advertising America This link opens in a new windowDocuments the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
- Media Intelligence Center This link opens in a new windowProvides audited circulation reports, circulation data and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications from the US, Canada, and other countries.
- SRDS media solutions This link opens in a new windowSRDS contains media information, including advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for the print and broadcast media. Includes the Direct Marketing List Source and Out of Home Advertising Source.
- Vivvix This link opens in a new windowAn online database that tracks U.S. advertising expenditures for companies and brands by channel.
- WARC : ideas and evidence for marketing people. This link opens in a new windowWARC is a database providing access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organisations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, abstracts (including 'Market research abstracts') and the full-text of various journals, including the International journal of market research, the Journal of advertising research, the International journal of advertising, Admap, the Journal of advertising history and Market leader.
Books/Ebooks
- The B2B social media book [electronic resource] : become a marketing superstar by generating leads with blogging, Linkedln, Twitter, Facebook, e-mail, and moreAdvance your B2B marketing plans with proven social media strategiesLearn social media's specific application to B2B companies and how it can be leveraged to drive leads and revenue. B2B marketers are undervalued and under appreciated in many companies. Social media and online marketing provide the right mix of rich data and reduction in marketing expenses to help transform a marketer into a superstar. The B2B Social Media Book provides B2B marketers with actionable advice on leveraging blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook and more, combined with key strategic imperatives that serve as the backbone of effective B2B social media strategies
- The advertising red books. Advertiser, business classificationsAdvertising red books. Advertiser, geographic
- Computational advertising : market and technologies for Internet commercial monetizationThis book introduces computational advertising, and Internet monetization. It provides a macroscopic understanding of how consumer products in the Internet era push user experience and monetization to the limit. Part One of the book focuses on the basic problems and background knowledge of online advertising. Part Two targets the product, operations, and sales staff, as well as high-level decision makers of the Internet products. It explains the market structure, trading models, and the main products in computational advertising. Part Three targets systems, algorithms, and architects, and focuses on the key technical challenges of different advertising products.