Marketing Research: course guide: Other resources
Databases
Factiva: access to articles from more than 10,000 newspapers, news wires, business and general interest publications.
Ipoll Databank: consists of approximately half a million questions asked in American public opinion polls conducted since 1935 by major polling, media, and research organizations.
Sports Business Research Network: source of full-text articles, market reports, and statistics on sporting event attendance, broadcasting, sporting goods equipment market and more.
U.S. Commercial Service: the trade promotion arm of the International Trade Administration, contains market reports and country guides for U.S.-based companies seeking to do business internationally.
Books on consumer spending and behavior
Consumer Behavior by
This wide-ranging yet focused text provides an informative introduction to consumer behavior supported by in-depth, scientifically grounded coverage of key principles and applications. CONSUMER BEHAVIOR, Second Edition, devotes ample attention to "classic" consumer behavior topics, including consumer information processing, consumer decision making, persuasion, social media and the role of culture and society on consumer behavior. In addition, this innovative text explores important current topics and trends relevant to modern consumer behavior, such as international and ethical perspectives, an examination of contemporary media, and a discussion of online tactics and branding strategies. This versatile text strikes an ideal balance among theoretical concepts, cutting-edge research findings, and applied real-world examples that illustrate how successful businesses apply consumer behavior to develop better products and services, market them more effectively, and achieve a sustainable competitive advantage. With its strong consumer-focused, strategy-oriented approach, CONSUMER BEHAVIOR, Second Edition, will serve you well in the classroom and help you develop the knowledge and skills to succeed in the dynamic world of modern business.
Call Number: HF5415.3 .K297 2015gISBN: 9781133587675Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Decoding the New Consumer Mind by
A decade of swift and stunning change has profoundly affected the psychology of how, when, and why we shop and buy. In Decoding the New Consumer Mind, award-winning consumer psychologist Kit Yarrow shares surprising insights about the new motivations and behaviors of shoppers, taking marketers where they need to be today: into the deeply psychological and often unconscious relationships that people have with products, retailers, marketing communications, and brands.nbsp; Drawing on hundreds of consumer interviews and shop-alongs, Yarrow reveals the trends that define our transformed behavior. For example, when we shop we show greater emotionality, hunting for more intense experiences and seeking relief and distraction online. A profound sense of isolation and individualism shapes the way we express ourselves and connect with brands and retailers. Neurological research even suggests that our brains are rewired, altering what we crave, how we think, and where our attention goes. Decoding the New Consumer Mind provides marketers with practical ways to tap into this new consumer psychology, and Yarrow shows how to combine technology and innovation to enhance brand image; win love and loyalty through authenticity and integrity; put the consumer's needs and preferences front and center; and deliver the most emotionally intense, yet uncomplicated, experience possible. Armed with Yarrow's strategies, marketers will be able to connect more effectively with consumers--driving profit and success across the organization.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118859315Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Free web sites
American Customer Satisfaction Index - independent measure of household consumption experience. The ACSI tracks trends in customer satisfaction and provides benchmarking insights of the consumer economy for companies, industry associations, and government agencies. Some data is available for free, while other parts of the site require a subscription.
Business.gov Market Research guide from the Small Business Administration that walks you through the market research process and includes links to government data sources.
Pew Research Center surveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, and lifestyles of Americans. Including the Pew Internet and American Life Project, Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.
Survey of Consumer Finances is a product of the Federal Reserve and contains information on the financial and demographic characteristics of U.S. families.
Searching Google? Get Better Results
Search engines are useful for finding information, but sometimes it is hard to wade through the bad results to get to quality information and reputable websites.
Use these tips to search Google like a pro:
- Limit the domains you search. e.g. Search for government sites by putting site:.gov in your search. If you have a specific site in mind you can be more specific in your Google search e.g. site:nass.usda.gov
- Remove commercial sites from your results by putting a minus sign in front e.g. -site:.com
- Exclude words or websites you don't want with a minus sign. e.g. -site:.wikihow.com
- Put quotation marks around a phrase to reduce the number of results. e.g. "chewing gum"
- Use OR to search for one of many options. e.g. campers OR hikers
- An asterisk * is often used as a wildcard in search engines and databases e.g. camp* will search for camp, campers, camping, etc.
- Use the Advanced Search to help create a focused search.
Note: many search engines will allow you to refine your search in a simlar fashion.