Marketing and Advertising: Market Research Reports
This guide gives an overview of the resources available to Columbia students and faculty for research in market research and advertising
Market Research Reports for Consumer Market
- EMarketer . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
- Mintel academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.
- Media Intelligence Center . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides audited circulation reports, circulation data and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications from the US, Canada, and other countries. - RKMA market research handbooks / Richard K. Miller & Associates. This link opens in a new windowDownloadable market research handbooks covering the following market sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, International Consumers, Leisure, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports, Travel & Tourism. Each report breaks down into industry segments and covers market assessment, trends, demographics and more.
- Simmons OneView . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Survey analysis and planning software that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies. - WARC : ideas and evidence for marketing people. This link opens in a new windowWARC is a database providing access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organisations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, abstracts (including 'Market research abstracts') and the full-text of various journals, including the International journal of market research, the Journal of advertising research, the International journal of advertising, Admap, the Journal of advertising history and Market leader.
Market Research for Technology Markets
- Forrester : information & knowledge management Forrester research. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts.
- Faulkner's advisory for IT studies . This link opens in a new windowVirtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC.
- IDC . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IT, telecommunications, and consumer technology market research and analyst reports.
Free web sites
American Customer Satisfaction Index - independent measure of household consumption experience. The ACSI tracks trends in customer satisfaction and provides benchmarking insights of the consumer economy for companies, industry associations, and government agencies. Some data is available for free, while other parts of the site require a subscription.
Business.gov Market Research guide from the Small Business Administration that walks you through the market research process and includes links to government data sources.
Pew Research Center surveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, and lifestyles of Americans. Including the Pew Internet and American Life Project, Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.
Survey of Consumer Finances is a product of the Federal Reserve and contains information on the financial and demographic characteristics of U.S. families.