Nepal: Religion
Nepal related resources
Tharlam Monastery of Tibetan Buddhism, Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Reference Bibliographies for Religion--Multi-regional
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS. This link opens in a new window"Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with the 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries"--EBSCO website.
- Bibliotheca polyglottaEditors: Jens Braarvi; Dag T. Haug; Frode Helland; Stephan Guth; University of Oslo, Norwegian Institute of Palaeography and Historical Philology.
A multilingual corpus of historically important texts and a resource to access the global history of concepts as displayed in a number of languages. It demonstrates how concepts diffuse historically into new languages, and thus into new cultural contexts. Sub-libraries include: Arabic texts; Biblia; Bibliotheca Polyglotta Graeca et Latina; Cuneiform multilinguals; Library of Old Norse; Motif library of mythology; Norwegian place names - Norske stedsnavn; Pāli Tipiṭaka; Sanskrit-Persica; The Ashoka library; The Kanjur Buddhist Sūtras in Tibetan; The multilingual Ibsen; Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae; Universal Declaration of Human Rights - Buddhism. Oxford Bibliographies
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays by subject experts - Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual LibraryThe Internet guide to Buddhism & Buddhist studies. Last updated 18 August 2016.
- Dialogue with people of living faiths: World Council of ChurchesMicroforms format at Burke Library. Files (1955-1993) filmed at the World Council of Churches in Geneva detailing the creation and the development of the Dialogue between People of Living Faiths programme. Includes documents that provide information on the various Multi-faith consultations, including the Christian-Hindu dialogue, the Christian-Muslim dialogue and Christian-Buddhist dialogue. See See finding aid
- Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist StudiesDatabase of Buddhist bibliographies, including full text articles, hosted by National Taiwan University
- Index to the Study of Religions
- This link opens in a new window
English language abstracts drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages reflecting a wide array of complementary disciplines. The database is updated with 600 to 750 entries per year. Articles are classified into the following three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions. - Mizan projectA digital initiative dedicated to encouraging informed public discourse and interdisciplinary scholarship on the culture and history of Muslim societies. Organized into three channels: Project, Pop, and Journal.
- The Pluralism ProjectHarvard University. "The Pluralism Project is a two decade-long research project that engages students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States. We explore particularly the communities and religious traditions of Asia and the Middle East that have become woven into the religious fabric of the United States in the past twenty-five years."
- Researching World Christianity: Doctoral Dissertations on Mission since 1894International Bulletin of Missionary Research with Yale Divinity School Library. includes English-language doctoral dissertations without regard to country of origin. Second, rather than focusing narrowly on missions, it also includes dissertations dealing with Christianity outside the West. Excluded are dissertations about Christianity in Europe, Australasia, and North America, with the exception of aboriginal missions in those areas. Third, it expands the chronological scope to include dissertations presented since 1894. Over 6,250 titles as of May 2014.
- Buddhist Digital Resource Center. Core text collections. This link opens in a new windowFormer name: Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center. Each collection contains multiple works on Tibetan literature which have been assembled specifically to be incorporated into institutional libraries. Each collection comprises roughly 1000 volumes from the TBRC holdings selected by E. Gene Smith, Executive Director of the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center. Within each Core Text Collection, each work is provided in both Adobe Acrobat PDF and TIFF formats.
- The Treasury of lives : a biographical encyclopedia of Himalayan religion
- This link opens in a new window
A biographical encyclopedia of all known past masters of Himalayan religion, both Buddhist and Bo
- World Christian database / Center for the Study of Global Christianity, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. This link opens in a new windowIncludes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 238 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces.
- World religion database: international religious demographic statistics and sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050. The WRD also contains a feedback mechanism so that users can leave comments on sources or methodology related to any figure reported in the WRD. In addition, the WRD will be constantly updated with new sources of data as they become available, such as estimates of religious affiliation at the province level within countries and religious freedom information for all countries. "