Nepal: Data/Statistics

CBS was established in 1959 as the central agency for the collection, consolidation, processing, analysis, publication and dissemination of statistics.

Global water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Use "assets by country" interface to search by country and product

Editors: Jens Braarvi; Dag T. Haug; Frode Helland; Stephan Guth; University of Oslo, Norwegian Institute of Palaeography and Historical Philology.
A multilingual corpus of historically important texts and a resource to access the global history of concepts as displayed in a number of languages. It demonstrates how concepts diffuse historically into new languages, and thus into new cultural contexts. Sub-libraries include: Arabic texts; Biblia; Bibliotheca Polyglotta Graeca et Latina; Cuneiform multilinguals; Library of Old Norse; Motif library of mythology; Norwegian place names - Norske stedsnavn; Pāli Tipiṭaka; Sanskrit-Persica; The Ashoka library; The Kanjur Buddhist Sūtras in Tibetan; The multilingual Ibsen; Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae; Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Collection of different types of Nepali Data in one place.

USAID-funded machine readable data. Subcategories include Democracy, Human Rights and Governance; Economic Growth; Education and Social Services; Health; Humanitarian Assistance; Peace and Security; Program Development and Oversight

Provides a regional perspective on development issues in Asia and the Pacific. The database, covering the 58 regional ESCAP Member States and Associate Members, contains 900 data series on a wide range of topics on population, education, health, poverty and inequalities, gender, economy, environment and connectivity. The online database is updated twice a year.

An annual effort to measure the state of open government data around the world. 122 countries in the sample as of 2015.

Vera-Hernandez, M., Attanasio, O., Osrin, D., Rasul, I., Pace, N., Fitzsimons, E., Costello , A., Meghir, C., Mesnard, A., Carneiro, P., Berlinski, S. (2010), UK Data Service. SN: 6562.
Contains information on women's knowledge on reproductive health and the sources of reproductive health information for a sample of women who delivered a baby between March 2007 and June 2008 in Makwanpur district, Nepal. Detailed information was collected on women's participation in non-government organisation group meetings. These are participatory women's group meetings that aim at improving reproductive health outcomes. Information on women's network of relatives was also collected. Requires free registration with UKDA.

This file contains aggregate measures from the ARDA’s coding of the 2001, 2003, and 2005 U.S. State Department’s International Religious Freedom Reports. This coding produced data on 196 different countries and territories (see below for list of countries coded), but excluded the United States. It also includes three indexes calculated from these data: Government Regulation of Religion index (GRI), Social Regulation of Religion index (SRI), Government Favoritism of Religion index (GFI) (see Grim and Finke, 2006). Data in this file represent mean coding responses for each variable from all three years of coding.

A household survey program focused on generating high-quality data, improving survey methods, and building capacity. The goal of the LSMS is to facilitate the use of household survey data for evidence-based policymaking. The LSMS website hosts many of the surveys and provides links for others to the websites of the relevant national statistics offices. Locate country specific data using the World Bank microdata catalog, the LSMS survey finder, the LSMS information table, and the LSMS panel surveys.

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data.
U.S. Annual Reports is available exclusively through Mergent Online. International Annual Reports module offer access to the most recent annual reports on thousands of non-U.S. public companies, as well as an extensive archive of past years' annuals in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

Richardson, D., Laurie, N., Townsend, J., Poudel, M. (2013), UK Data Service.
The aims of the project were to research the intersections of sexuality, citizenship and pro-poor policy making for trafficked women upon their return to their home country of origin, Nepal. Requires free registration with UKDA.

There are three Excel files containing data arising from household surveys of two villages in Lamjung district of Nepal and four settlements near Merowe Dam in Sudan. The data include social profile of these villages (including livelihood strategies) and information with regard to access to natural resources and project impacts. Data from Khasur village in Lamjung district of Nepal focus on villagers' access to forest resources and their participation on REDD+ pilot project whereas Bhulbhule data focus on household profile and people's reaction to the development of a hydropower project. The data from Merowe dam case study in Sudan focus on impacts of hydropower development, including issues of local people's displacement and access to land and water. Samples of information sheet/consent form and the questionnaires used for data collection in each of the case study sites are also provided. Requires free registration with UKDA.

United Nations Office at Vienna. Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Branch, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2010-07-22.
Surveys were distributed to officials in every member country of the United Nations. Designated officials completed the surveys to the best of their abilities given the country's available data.
Also available via UNOCDC site.

A central source for U.S. foreign assistance data, international socioeconomic data, and data-driven analysis. Links to data portals: Foreign Aid Explorer, International Data & Economic Analysis, Trade Capacity Building, Microenterprise Enterprise Reporting

A compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.

The United States Bureau of the Census initiated a series of studies on women in development in 1970 with data drawn primarily from national censuses, surveys, statistical abstracts, and international statistical compendia. The aim of this data series was to provide a reliable, up-to-date, accessible database on women in development which can illuminate the discrepancies in the roles and status of women against those of men throughout the world in order to serve as a basis for the promotion of both intranational and international parity between the sexes. The studies that comprise the Women in Development series consist of national-level data concerning female/male differentials over a range of demographic and socio-economic variables. Wherever possible, the data are broken down by age and urban/rural residence to facilitate further analysis. The series is cumulative and the data are presented in basic tabular format. Initially, the data tables were compiled for 69 developing nations from Asia, Latin America, Africa, and the Near East that were recipients of the United States Agency for International Development aid. The first collection, Women in Development, 1979-1980 (ICPSR 8053), included all the aid-recipient nations regardless of population size. Subsequently, data were compiled for all remaining nations of the world with a population of five million or more, and statistics for the original nations were updated to reflect more recent information. The second collection in the series, Women in Development IV, 1983 (ICPSR 8155), covered approximately 120 nations from Asia, the Pacific, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa, the Near East, North America, Europe, and the Soviet Union.

Select by date to access archived data. For the most recent data, see tables compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and comparative data by country.

ICPSR 24340. Paxton, Pamela, Jennifer Green, and Melanie Hughes. This data collection provides information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. The dataset allows for extensive, large-scale, cross-national investigation of the factors that explain women's attainment of political power over time and provides educators with comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions. Information is provided on female suffrage, the first female member of parliament, yearly percentages of women in parliaments, when women reached important representational milestones, such as 10 percent, 20 percent, and 30 percent of a legislature, and when women achieved highly-visible political positions, such as prime minister, president, or head of parliament.

An ongoing effort to systematically gauge and track the perceptions and views of the World Bank Group’s clients and partners across the globe. This collection hosts open, accessible survey data from 29 countries collected in FY12 (July 2011 - June 2012) and 41 countries in FY13 (July 2012 - June 2013). In FY14 (July 2013 – June 2014), PORG will conduct surveys in another 43 countries. All data will be regularly updated and more countries will be added as data become available.

The Microdata Library is a service established to facilitate access to microdata that provide information about people living in developing countries, their institutions, their environment, their communities and the operation of their economies. It includes datasets that have been produced by the World Bank, such as impact evaluation of the Bank’s operations or research on development issues. It also includes datasets from other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2011). Provides a comparable and up-to-date set of national data on contraceptive prevalence for almost all countries and areas of the world. It also provides estimates of unmet need for family planning.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2012). Provides a comparable and up-to-date global set of survey-based data on contraceptive prevalence and unmet need for family planning and also presents model-based estimates and short-term projections of contraceptive prevalence, unmet need for family planning, total demand for family planning and percentage of demand for family planning that is satisfied.

Veenhoven, R., Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands. An archive of research findings on subjective enjoyment of life which brings together findings that are scattered throughout many studies and provides a basis for synthetic work. For country specific date use nations/regions list interface.

McClelland, Charles. ICPSR05211-v3. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 1999. The WEIS Project dataset is a record of the flow of action and response between countries (as well as non-governmental actors, e.g., NATO) reflected in public events reported daily in the New York Times from January 1966 through December 1978. The unit of analysis in the dataset is the event/interaction, referring to words and deeds communicated between nations, such as threats of military force. Each event/interaction is a daily report of an international event. There are 98,043 events included in this dataset. Coded for each event are the actor, target, date, action category, and arena. Also provided are brief textual descriptions for each event. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2009)

United Nations Population Division. Free download in MS Excel format. See metadata for details. Contains data on the age-specific fertility rate for 224 countries or areas of the world.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2013)

Office of Population Research. Participating countries from Africa, Asia, America, and Europe. Click on the link to learn about the available data and documentation for the country's survey.

World Health Organization. The WHS was implemented between 2002 and 2004 in countries selected to represent all regions of the world. The total sample size, using nationally representative samples, includes over 300,000 individuals aged 18+ years. For six countries, China, Ghana, India, Mexico, Russia and South Africa, WHS also serves as SAGE Wave 0. Household data includes a household roster, health insurance coverage, health expenditures, and indicators of permanent income or wealth. Individual level data include sociodemographic information, health state descriptions, health state valuation, risk factors, chronic conditions, mortality, health care utilization, health systems responsiveness and social capital.

United Nations University (UNU-WIDER) , Version 2.0c, May 2008. Collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. The database and its documentation are available on this website.

Prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. Free download in MS Excel format.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division, Fertility and Family Planning Section

The series supplies data on member countries of the United Nations as well as members of regional alliances or organizations such as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the former Warsaw Pact, the World Bank, and members of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC). The data for the series were originally collected by the United States Arms Control and Disarmament Agency. The original Agency publications were transposed to yield the time series data collections. Information in earlier publications was updated in subsequent collections. In earlier files, the unit of analysis was the country-year, but later files also added country as a unit of analysis. See also the WMEAT reports on the U.S. Department of State site.

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division. Downloadable pdf format.

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division. Downloadable pdf format. Assesses changes in mortality risks at the global, regional and country levels, focusing in particular on the implementation period of the Programme of Action of the International Conference on Population and Development, from 1990-1995 to 2010-2015. The mortality estimates presented in this report are available in digital form. Electronic version web tool offers interactive access to the charts from the print version.

"The 2012 Revision of the World Population Prospects is the twenty-Third round of global demographic estimates and projections undertaken by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat."--from 14 April 2014 update. Also availalable in CD ROM format: Offsite CD-ROM HA155 .W682

Business CD-ROM HE7601 .W675 . 11th ed. (2007) Shelved in Business Course Reserves
13th ed 2009 Shelved in Business Course Reserves. Contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975 to 2013 for more than 150 telecommunication/ICT statistics covering fixed-telephone networks, mobile-cellular telephone subscriptions, quality of service, Internet (including fixed- and mobile-broadband subscription data), traffic, staff, prices, revenue, investment and statistics on ICT access and use by households and individuals. Selected demographic, macroeconomic and broadcasting statistics are also included.