Lodging Industry Research Guide: Industry Statistics
A subject guide for lodging industry research at Columbia University
Industry Reports
- MarketLine Global Hotels & Motels Industry Profile Reports: access through Business Source Complete.
- BARNES Reports: Hotels & Motels Industry (NAICS 72111); BARNES Reports: Casino Hotels Industry (NAICS 72112); BARNES Reports: Worldwide Hotels & Motels Industry (NAICS 72111): access through Business Source Complete
- Trends in the hotel industry: Annual PKF Hospitality Research reports provide detailed analysis of hotel revenues, expenses, operating data, and profits by property type, geographic location, rate, and size categories. Includes full-service; limited-service; resort; suite; and convention hotels.
- Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook 2019-2020
- Industry Profile (accessible through RKMA Market Research Reports). It enumerates the primary metrics used in evaluating the American hotel industry which include room revenue, average daily rate, and revenue per available room. It indicates the total number of hotels, room count, pre-tax income, and average daily rate from 2007 to 2013. It also shows the distribution of hotel properties and rooms. Other chapters include tourism statistics, economic impact of travel, family travel, and much more. 2006 to 2014 reports can be accessed through Business Source Complete.
- 2014 Global Hotels, Resorts & Cruise Lines: From Hotels, Resorts & Cruise Lines Industry Profile: Global. Nov 2014, p1-34. 33p. Accessible through Business Source Complete. Includes market values, volumes, and segmentation, competitive landscape, forecasts, and more.
Industry Statistics
- Passport This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. - Mintel academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.
- StatistaProvides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English and German. Contains industry statistics and industry reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Industry Reports covering the key players and industry statistics in the US and the world, for instance, Boutique Hotels - OD5464; Bed & Breakfast & Hostel Accommodations in the US - 72119; Hotel Construction - OD4670; Real Estate Investment Trusts in the US - 52593; Casino Hotels in the US - 72112