Lodging Industry Research Guide: Articles and News
Start Your Research
Finding articles on a specific industry is difficult especially if it is not a big industry. Here are some tips that might be helpful to you:
-
Start with databases that cover broader subjects, i.e. ProQuest or Google Scholar.
-
Reuse the subjects/keywords information from sample articles that fit in your research needs to do another search.
-
search by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
-
Manage your articles by using one of the citation management tools Columbia University provides: EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero.
Databases
- ABI/INFORM global This link opens in a new windowSearch 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the Wall Street Journal.
- Business source complete This link opens in a new windowContains MarketLine reports, Tourism Market Research Handbook, Hotels, Resorts & Cruise Lines Industry Profile: Global, and numerous other industry related materials.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
- Financial times. This link opens in a new windowProvides 'real time' access to the Financial Times in six regional editions: Asia, Europe, India, Middle East, UK and US.
- Google scholar This link opens in a new window"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research."--About Google scholar.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
