International Data: International Organizations

• DataBank

  • an online web resource that provides simple and quick access to collections of time series data

• World Bank Data Catalog

  • The Data Catalog is designed to make World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog. There are different ways to access and download datasets.

• World Bank Project & Operations

  • data/information on lending projects from 1947 forward

    • Projects & Operations Database

    • Mapping for Results

• IMF Data Portal

  • This is a NEW interface starting from March 31, 2025.
  • Data users can sign up a personal account on its website.

  • Data Resources from Other International Organisations

• IMF Climate Change Indicators Dashboard

  • Datasets

• UNdata explorer

• UN Comtrade

  • UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains trade data (imports, exports and re-exports) from countries world-wide.

  • Datasets accessible from the Data API/UI and API

• UNEP (United Nations Environment Programme)

• UNIDO (United Nations Industrial Development Organization) Statistics

• UN SDG Indicators Database

• Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO)

  • Data by domains

• UNSD (The United Nations Statistics Division, click the "Data" drop-down menu for databases & check UNDataCommons)

  • Industrial Statistics

  • Environment Statistics

  • Energy Statistics

    • Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI)

  • Minimum Set of Gender Indicators

  • Disability Statistics

• CLIMB Database

  • Human Mobility in the Context of Disasters, Climate Change and Environmental Degradation Database

• UN Peace Security Data Hub

• Visualizations and machine readable UN Resolutions

• UNESCWA

• UNINFO

• IPUMS - International: World's largest collection of census microdata covering over 100 countries, contemporary and historical

• IPUMS - Global Health: Harmonized international survey data on maternal, child, and reproductive health from three data series: the Demographic Health Surveys (DHS), Performance Monitoring for Action (PMA), and the UNICEF Multiple Indicator Cluster surveys (MICS).

  • IPUMS - DHS: Health-related microdata for low- and middle-income countries

    • Climate Change and Health Research Hub

    • Original DHS data can be found on its official website

  • IPUMS - PMA

    • PMA Data Analysis Hub

    • Original PMA data can be found on its official website

  • IPUMS - MICS

    • Original MICS data can be found on its official website

• IPUMS - IHGIS: Tabular and GIS data from population, housing, and agricultural censuses around the world

• IPUMS - Multinational Time Use Study

• OECD iLibrary

  • the online publications portal of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

  • covering various themes such as energy, environment, labor, finance, urban/rural/regional development, etc.

  • OECD Data Explorer

• ILOSTAT (International Labor Organization)

  • the global reference for international labor statistics, providing a comprehensive database and resources for producing labor statistics

• AIDDATA.org

• ForeignAsistance.gov

• International Aid Transparency Initiative - iatistandard.org

• Our World in Data

  • open access under the Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license

• StatsAPEC

  • a statistics portal with data dating back to APEC’s inception in 1989

• Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)

  • Launched in July 2014, the goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. Their growing collection of datasets has been accessed by users in over 250 countries and territories.

• The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

  • The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting our home planet.

    • Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC), a data center in EOSDIS, hosted by CIESIN at Columbia University

• The National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)'s Data Archives and Guidance

  • Geoscience Data Exchange on Zenodo

• The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)'s Climate Data Online

  • find more data sources in the "Additional Data Access" section on the page

  • NOAA OneStop, a comprehensive metadata and discovery portal for NOAA's all types of environmental datasets, not just climate.

• The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

• US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA Data Hub)

• The European Space Agency (ESA) Climate Office Open Data Portal

• World Resource Institute Data 

• Climate Watch Data Explorer

  • open access under the Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license

  • including data sources beyond Climate Watch (check all sources using the "Data sources" drop-down menu)

• International Energy Agency

  • can access free datasets through the website directly

  • access Columbia licensed datasets through CLIO

• Statistical Review of World Energy

• The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) Data Catalog

  • see more data and tools on NREL website here

• U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit

• U.S. Energy Information Agency 

  • International data  

International Opinion Poll Data Guide

GIS and Spatial Data: World

Government Statistical Agencies

Country Statistical Yearbooks (some print & PDFs)

ICPSR's International Data (search country name)

ProQuest Statistical Insight