Research Guides: History of Health and Medicine in Africa: Home

General Reference : Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Yearbooks

Abbiw, Daniel K. Traditional and religious plants of West Africa. (Accra, Ghana, West Africa : Smartline Limited, 2015)

Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-)

See also: Europa world plus (described below)

Africa yearbook online. (Leiden: Brill, 2004-)

African disability rights yearbook. Online. [Pretoria, South Africa] : Pretoria University Law Press (PULP), 2013-

African ethnobotany in the Americas. Edited by Robert Voeks and John Rashford. (New York : Springer, c2013)
--See also: E-book

African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. New York : Routledge, 2004.
--See also: E-book

Barton, Thomas George. Sexuality and health in Sub-Saharan Africa. (Berkeley, Calif. : T.G. Barton, 1991)

Bioethics in Africa : theories and praxis. E-book. Edited by Yaw A. Frimpong-Mansoh and Caesar A. Atuire. (Wilmington, Delaware : Vernon Press, [2019])

Collignon, René and Charles Becker. Santé et population en Sénégambie des origines a 1960 : bibliographie annotée. Avec la collaboration de Ellen Brickwedde, Didier Fassin et Christine Henry. ([Paris?] : Institut national d'études démographiques, 1989)

The culture of mental illness and psychiatric practice in Africa. Edited by Emmanuel Akyeampong, Allan G. Hill, and Arthur Kleinman. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, [2015]
--See also: E-book

Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Edited by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
--See also: E-book

Encyclopedia of AIDS. E-book. Edited by Thomas J. Hope, Douglas D. Richman, Mario Stevenson. (New York, NY : Springer New York : Imprint: Springer, 2018)

Europa world plus. (New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-)

Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"

Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history. E-book
Editor in chief, Howard Chiang ; associate editors, Anjali Aronekar [and six others]. (Farmington Hills, Michigan : Charles Scribner's Sons, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, [2019])
--via Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gray, John. Ashe, traditional religion and healing in Sub-Saharan Africa and the diaspora : a classified international bibliography. (New York : Greenwood Press, c1989)

Handbook of quality of life in African societies. E-book. Edited by Irma Eloff. (Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Springer, 2019)

Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".

The A to Z of pre-colonial Africa. By Robert O. Collins. (2010).
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. By Terry M. Mays and Mark W. Delancey. (2002)
Historical dictionary of women in the Middle East and North Africa. By Gahda Hashem Talhami. (2013)
--See also: E-Book
Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. By Kathleen E. Sheldon. (2016)
--See also: E-Book

Iwu, Maurice M. Handbook of African medicinal plants. E-book. (Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group, 2013)
--See also: 2nd copy

Iyioke, Ike Valentine. Clinical trials and the African person : a quest to re-conceptualize responsibility. E-book. (Leiden ; Boston : Brill-Rodopi, 2018)

Medicinal and Aromatic Plants of the World. Volume 3: Africa. E-book. Edited by Mohamed Neffati, Hanen Najjaa, Ákos Máthé. (Dordrecht : Springer Netherlands : Imprint: Springer, 2017)

Kokwaro, John O. Medicinal plants of East Africa. (Nairobi, Kenya : University of Nairobi Press, 2009)

Medicinal plant research in Africa : pharmacology and chemistry. E-book. Edited by Victor Kuete. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2013.

The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)

See also: Europa world plus (described above)

New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 vols. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008 .
--See also: E-book

Ntarangwi, Mwenda. Children and youth in Africa : annotated bibliography 2001-2011. Dakar : Codesria, c2014.
--See also: E-Book

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
--Select "African Studies" ; or, see especially:

Children and Childhood . By Steve Howard.
Disease and African Society. By Shane Doyle.
Family Planning. By Emily Callaci.
Famine. By Daniel Maxwell & Merry Fitzpatrick.
Food and Food Production. By Ayodeji Olukoju.
Health, Medicine, and the Study of Africa. By Kalala Ngalamulume.
Population and Demography. By Odile Frank.
Sexualities in Africa. By Marc Epprecht.
Women and African History. By Kathleen Sheldon.
Women and Colonialism. By Kathleen Sheldon.
Women, Gender, and the Study of Africa. By Beverly Stoeltje.

The Oxford encyclopedia of African historiography : methods and sources. Thomas Spear, editor in chief. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2019)
--See also: E-book

The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo.
2 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.

Oxford research encyclopedias--African history (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)

Scholarly essays, with extensive bibliographic references, on a wide variety of topics in the field...such as:
African Religion and Healing in the Atlantic Diaspora. By John M. Janzen.
African Rinderpest Panzootic, 1888-1897. By Thaddeus Sunseri.
Archeobotany: Methods. By Louis Champion & Dorian Q. Fuller.
Archaeology of Gender. By Lyn Wadley.
Development of Plant Food Production in the West African Savannas: Archeobotanical Perspectives. By Katarina Neumann.
Disease and Epidemiology of Humans and Animals: Methods. By James L. A. Webb Jr.
Disease Control and Public Health in Colonial Africa. By Samuël Coghe.
Food and Diet: Methods. By Liza Gijanto.
Food Production in the Forest Zone of West Africa: Archeological and Historical Perspectives. By Richard T. Chia & Catherine D'Andrea.
Genetics and Southern African History. By Framcesco Montinaro & Cristian Capelli.
Girlhood in Africa. By Sarah Bellows-Blakely.
HIV/AIDS in South Africa. By Rebecca Hodes.
Mental Illness, Psychiatry, and the South African State, 1800s to 2018. By Julie Parle.
Numerical Data and Statistical Sources. By Leigh Gardner.
Reproductive Health, Fertility Control and Childbirth. By Susanne M. Klausen.
Sex Work/Prostitution in Africa. By Chi Adanna Mgbako.
Water Management in East Africa. By Matthew V. Bender.

Promoting bioethics in Africa : report on the First Days of Bioethics for West and Central Africa : what ethics for research in Africa?, Dakar, Senegal, 11 to 13 July 2005. ([Dakar : Ministère de la santé et de la prévention médicale, Ministère de la recherche scientifique, Réseau sénégalais "Droit, éthique, santé], 2007)
--See also: Original edition in French

Westley, David. Mental health and psychiatry in Africa : an annotated bibliography. (London ; New York : Hans Zell Publishers, 1993)

Principles of medicine in Africa. E-book. Edited by David Mabey...[et al.] (Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2013)

The Routledge handbook of African demography. E-book. Edited by Clifford O. Odimegwu and Yemi Adewoyin. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2022.

The Routledge handbook of disability in southern Africa. Edited by Tsitsi Chataika. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2019)
--See also: E-book

World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.

For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".

Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)
--See also: E-book

Library Catalogs

CLIO
(All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

Pegasus (Law Library)
--For access, see Law Library Guide

Educat (Teachers College)

Borrow Direct

Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat (Interlibrary Loan tool)

Internet Resources

Demographic and Health Surveys: Countries.
(Macro International, Calverton, MD)

Health Information & Health Organizations in Africa (Columbia University Libraries, New York)
--See especially: ***COVID-19 in Africa***
Part of "African Studies WWW-Virtual Library

World Health Organization (Geneva, Switzerland)

Atlas of African Health Statistics: 2014 ; 2016 ; 2018

World Health Organization, Regional Office for Africa (Brazzaville, Republic of Congo)

Index Databases

Africa-Wide Information (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997-; via EBSCO).
An interdisciplinary international index to publications on Africa.
Note: You can "choose databases": combining Africa-Wide Information, with Anthropology Plus, Historical Abstracts... among others.

African Women Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock)

AnthropologyPlus. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC).

Cochrane Library. (Hoboken, NJ: WIley Interscience, 2004-)
Consists chiefly of four medical science databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews ; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness; Cochrane controlled trials register;
and Cochrane review methodology database.

PAIS Index. Monthly. --via Proquest. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-)

PubMed (Bethesda, MD: National Center for Biotechnology Information)

World Health Organization, Regional Office for Africa--African Index Medicus (Geneva, Switzerland; Brazzaville, Republic of Congo)

New Arrivals in the Catalog

African Studies Librarian

Yuusuf Caruso

Email Me

Contact:

Columbia University
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu

Global Studies Library

Citation Management

The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero)

The Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

Guide to Citing Government Documents

Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook.
5th ed. Boston : Bedford Books, c1998.
--See also: 6th ed.