Gender and Sexuality in African History: Full Text Journals, Statistics, Dissertations, & Archives

Full Text Databases -- Historical Documents

  • African Blue Books, 1821-1953 (British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)
    Colonial economic development: imports, exports, revenues, expenditures; ecclesiastical records, public works, and population statistics.

  • Aluka-Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Anti-apartheid/liberation movement documents; periodicals)
     
  • Apartheid South Africa: 1948-1980 (Selections from UK National Archives)
     
  • Archives of The Church of Uganda Online
    "Legal and administrative documents, correspondence, publications, personal records from the Offices of the Archbishops and Bishops of Uganda, the Education Secretary General, the General, Financial, and Provincial Secretaries, the Provincial Treasurer, and the Mother's Union."

  • Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919 -and- 1920-1945 African colonial government gazettes (Selected CO records from the UK National Archives)

  • Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
     
  • eHRAF collection of ethnography (e-books)
     
  • Gallica--Voyages en Afrique (Selections from Bibliothèque nationale de France)
     
  • Hein Online (inc. Foreign Relations of the United States)
     
  • House of Commons-Parliamentary Papers (British foreign/colonial policy)
     
  • Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)
  • Dissertations

  • The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
     
  • Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
     
  • Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
     
  • ResearchKenya.org: Union List of Theses and Dissertations Held by Universities and Research Institutions in Kenya. (Ruth Thomas et al., Kenya Information Preservation Society, Nairobi, Kenya)
     
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya, Digital Repository: Theses and Dissertations
     
  • Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
    Masters' thesis repository
     
  • Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
     
  • South African Universities' Theses & Dissertations Catalogs and Selected Electronic Full-Text
  • Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)
  • Statistics

  • African Development Bank -- Statistics Division (Tunis, Tunisia ; Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire)
  • Archives at Columbia

  • Columbia University -- Archives Portal Collections

  • Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research includes records of:
    Amnesty International USA ; Human Rights Watch ; Committee for Health in Southern Africa ; Gay McDougall Papers (Namibia & South Africa) ; Human Rights Web Archive Project
     
  • The Carnegie Collections at Columbia University
     
  • Missionary Research Library at Union Theological Seminary (Burke Library)