Frank Lloyd Wright Research Guide: Wright at Avery Library

Avery Library holds the world’s leading collection of materials by and about Frank Lloyd Wright. From his first published work, to his drawings and papers, to comprehensive coverage of the critical literature devoted to Wright and his legacy, Avery’s library and archival collections offer an unparalleled resource for investigating Wright and his prolific body of works.

Books & journals

Avery comprehensively collects scholarly texts and serial publications by and about Frank Lloyd Wright. To find books, journal titles, and videos by and about Frank Lloyd Wright in the general collection, search Columbia University Libraries’ online catalog.

• Search for general collection books by entering “Wright, Frank Lloyd” into the search box
• Search for books about specific Wright projects or topics by entering keywords such as “Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum,” “Robie House,” “organic architecture” or “usonian houses”
• Search for journal articles on Frank Lloyd Wright via the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.

Rare books

Avery Classics, our rare books collection, includes first editions and other rare volumes of Frank Lloyd Wright’s published works. Search Columbia University Libraries’ online catalog for rare books by entering “Wright, Frank Lloyd” AND “Avery Classics”.  Please see Avery’s guide to Wright’s Books and Publications; please direct inquiries about these materials to: avery-classics@library.columbia.edu

Archival materials

Avery Library’s department of Drawings & Archives has the world's largest collection of archival holdings on Frank Lloyd Wright. In addition to its most significant holding, the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archive acquired in 2012, Avery has historically collected archives documenting the life and work of Frank Lloyd Wright and other related figures such Louis Sullivan, Edgar Kaufmann, and Edgar Tafel, among others.  Please see Frank Lloyd Wright Archival Collections at Avery for a detailed guide to our holdings and direct inquiries about Wright archival materials to avery-drawings@library.columbia.edu