Howe, John H. (1913-1997):
John H. Howe Collected Papers, 1887-2001 (bulk 1930-1993) Wisconsin Historical Society Library and Archives
Collected papers, mainly 1930-1993, of John Howe, an architect associated with Frank Lloyd Wright in the Taliesin Fellowship. These papers primarily concern Wright; Howe's own papers as an independent architect are part of the Northwestern Architectural Archives of the University of Minnesota. In the collection are books, articles and other printed materials about Wright's career and reputation; additional writings and publications by Wright himself (some annotated and inscribed); additional newspaper clippings (available on microfilm); exhibit catalogs; memorabilia; and Taliesin publications. In addition, there are published drawings, prints, and reproductions, sound recordings, and a small quantity of Wright correspondence. A few items document his role in the management of Taliesin Associates after Wright's death.
John H. Howe Papers (1925-1989) Northwest Architectural Archives, University of Minnesota Libraries
The collection consists of architectural materials and includes working drawings, renderings, prints, photographs, job files, contracts, correspondence and specifications for over 300 commissions, built and unbuilt. These include drawings made while at Sandstone and as a Taliesin Associated Architect in the 1940s and 1950s. There are also tape recordings of a broadcast interview with John Howe (1973) and an oral history (1989) covering his life and career.
Neutra, Richard (1892-1970):
Richard and Dion Neutra papers, 1925-1970 University of California, Los Angeles. Library Special Collections
Richard Josef Neutra (1892-1970) was born in Vienna. He was the city architect for Luckenwalde, then worked as a draftsman-collaborator with Erich Mendelsohn in Berlin before immigrating to the United States in 1923. He worked with Frank Lloyd Wright (1924) before settling in Los Angeles. His most productive years were during 1930s and 1940s. The collection consists of travel sketches, papers, drawings, rolled plans, blueprints, audio recordings, and photographs related to Richard Neutra's career as an architect.
Polivka, Jaroslav Joseph (1886-1960):
J.J. Polivka Papers, 1945-1959 State University of New York at Buffalo. University Archives
Papers of J.J. Polivka, internationally renowned Czechoslovakian structural engineer. Collection documents his collaboration with Frank Lloyd Wright on many of Wright's later projects including the Guggenheim Museum. Collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs and photograph negatives.
Schindler, Rudolph Michael (1887-1953):
R. M. Schindler papers Bulk, 1916-1953 Architecture & Design Collection. Art, Design & Architecture Museum; University of California, Santa Barbara
The R. M. Schindler papers contain the work of the Viennese-born American architect, Rudolph Michael Schindler (1887-1953), primarily from his time in California. The collection includes personal papers, correspondance and specifications, product literature and publications, manuscript writings, photographs and drawings. Most of materials are in English, however there is significant material in German, especially correspondence. The collection includes original photographs and negatives taken by Schindler of his buildings, travels, the work of other architects (especially Frank Lloyd Wright) and his family and friends. His drawings and photographs by Schindler and others document most of his circa 450 architectural and design projects. The archive is arranged in four series: Personal Papers, Professional Papers, Office Records, and Project records.
Tafel, Edgar (1912-2011):
Edgar Tafel architectural records and papers, 1919-2005 Department of Drawings & Archives, Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
This collection documents the life and career of Edgar Allen Tafel: New York architect, Frank Lloyd Wright historian, and one of the original apprentices of the Taliesin Fellowhip from 1932. The collection primarily documents Tafel's professional activities and his later independent career which was most prominent from 1965-1985. The collection is made up of personal papers, correspondence, writings, professional papers, office records, project records, photographs and slides, audio-visual material, and printed material.
Wright, Frank Lloyd Jr. (1890-1978):
Lloyd Wright papers, 1920-1978 Department of Special Collections, University Research Library, University of California, Los Angeles
Lloyd Wright (1890-1978) was the eldest son of Frank Lloyd Wright. He trained as a draftsman/delineator in his father's Oak Park Studio, and studied engineering at the University of Wisconsin (1908-09). The collection consists of Wright's original drawings, renderings, blueprints, photographs, models and office files. Many of the photographs in the collection are by Will Connell.