Buddhist Digital Resource Center (formerly TBRC)
“Tibetan Buddhism and Political Power in the Courts of Asia” conference (2019) talks
List of conference speakers and topics: https://rubinmuseum.org/events/event/tibetan-buddhism-and-political-power-in-the-courts-of-asia
Tantric Deity Visualization animation (Rubin Museum)
Video depicting a distilled version of visualization practice, centered around Sarvavid (“All-Knowing”) Buddha Vairocana.
Rubin Museum publications (free digital access): rubinmuseum.org/page/rubin-museum-publications
Rubin Museum Educational resources: https://rubinmuseum.org/education#
The Tibet Album: British Photography in Central Tibet (1920-1950)
Searchable by photographers, dates, people, places. Includes a “Who Was Who” project for early 20th c. Tibet, also the day-to-day diary of Gould Mission in Tibet (1936-37). Primarily photos by Charles Bell (1870-1945), Frederick Spencer Chapman (1907-1971), Arthur Hopkinson (1894-1953), Rabden Lepcha, Evan Nepean (1909-2002), Hugh Richardson (1905-2000), and Harry Staunton (1908-1945). Project of the Pitt Rivers Museum, British Museum.
Digital Himalaya
Ethnographic materials from Himalayan Mountain communities, including slides, videos, audio tapes, etc. Includes materials from the Williamson Collection (1930-1935, Bhutan, Sikkim and Tibet), the Fürer-Haimendorf Film Collection (1930s, North Eastern India and Nepal), the Naga videodisk created in the 1980s, the ThakVillage of central Nepal collected since 1969, and the Thangmi Archive of northeastern Nepal. Features sample images and video clips (.qt) from the collections.
Tibet, from the Collections of the American Geographical Society (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
This digital collection presents historical maps and images of Tibet from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. It includes includes a set of early photographs of central Tibet and Lhasa as well as images from Harrison Forman's expeditions to northern Tibet between 1932 and 1937.
A Glimpse of Another World: A Journey through Western Tibet (1938)
Photographs taken by F. Bailey Vanderhoef, Jr.
Digital Map: Inner Asian Empires Engaged with Tibetan Buddhism (Rubin Museum)
Wutaishan Interactive Map (Rubin Museum)
A digital exploration of a 19th century woodblock print of a panoramic map of the sacred mountain Wutaishan (Five Terrace Mountain) which includes descriptions for ca 40 of the most important cites to Tibetans and Mongolians drawn from Chinese and Tibetan gazetteers, as well as photos of the cites, and related objects.
Treasury of Lives Custom Map Tool
The Treasury of Lives Database offers digital mapping tools to custom-design maps for individual research purposes. For assistance, write to contact@treasuryoflives.org , and mention that you are a student at Columbia University, which subscribes to such additional services.
China Historical Geographic Information System
This database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 222 BCE and 1911 CE provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World [electronic resource] / Saul B. Cohen, editor. [New York] : Columbia University Press, c2001- This resource lists all county seats (mostly using Chinese names) as well as population and local products.
THL Tibetan & Himalayan Place Dictionary
Buddhist Digital Resource Center (place search)
See also: Tuttle, Gray. A Guide to the Use of Chinese Gazetteers* for Amdo.