How to Find Online Journal Articles?: Chinese Journals
A step by step guide to find full-text Chinese and English journal articles
How to Discover Chinese Full-text Journal Articles?
- Search the China Academic Journals full-text database.
Its integrated interface includes the Century Journals Project database and Century Journals Social Sciences. The three databases of China Academic Journals, Century Journals Project and Century Journals Social Sciences shall cover journals from their earliest issue to their current issue. China Academic Journals should include all, but for some titles one has to search Century Journals Project and Century Journals Social Sciences respectively.
- Search CEPS (Chinese Electronic Periodical Services) and Wanfang Data - China Online Journals.
CEPS, Wanfang cover mainland Chinese and Taiwanese journal articles; in particular, less established mainland Chinese titles and journal articles of recent years are included in CEPS. Please note: CEPS contains TEPS; TEPS covers journals in Taiwan only, Wanfang covers from 1990s.
- Search Quan guo bao kan suo yin 全国报刊索引数据库, which contains Wan Qing qi kan quan wen shu ju ku (Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full text Database) (1833-1911) 晚清期刊全文数据库 and Minguo shi qi qi kan quan wen (Republican Period Chinese Periodical Full-text Database) (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文 if the targeted titles are of 1833-1950. The downloadable PDF options are automatically displayed.
For those found articles without downloadable option, and after searching and found not in the holdings of Columbia and other North American libraries, full texts of requested articles can be delivered from Shanghai Library to you via the Library. The Chinese Studies library staff may send the requested journal articles to your e-mail account, or you may need to come to the library to pick up the printed copy or download if the article files are too large to send via e-mail.
One may also try Dacheng lao jiu kan quan wen shu ju ku 大成老旧刊全文数据库 and CADAL (China Academic Digital Associative Library) 高等学校中英文图书数字化国际合作计划. Please note CADAL only has the option of issue browsing, and does not allow downloading.
- Search the Columbia University library catalog, CLIO.
Check to see if Columbia has subscribed to the journal. If the journal is stored off-site, you may request a full-text copy of the article to be sent to you electronically.
- Ask the librarian.
