Anthropology of Contemporary Italy: Books

Books and Dissertations

One more page, one more chapter, one more book

Start with CLIO to find books and journals in Columbia University library collections. (Use the Pegasus catalog to find books and journals in the Law Library collection.)

Then try WorldCat, the largest online catalog in the world, with over 100 million book and journal records, if you can't find what you need in CLIO. You can use Interlibrary Loan or BorrowDirect to get access to whatever you need, even if it's not available locally.

To find dissertations, start with Proquest Digital Dissertations. You can also check DART, the European e-theses portal. For Italian dissertations only, see: Tesionline.

Other essential catalogs and resources include:

E-Book Databases

  • ***Torrossa***: the only Italian-language database providing full-text access to books, conference proceedings, and journals from major Italian publishers. Includes content published in Editoria Italiana Online and from publishers like Il Mulino, Fabrizio Serra, Aracne, Bulzoni, Franco Cesati, Longo Editore, etc.
  • ACLS Humanities Ebooks: is an online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities, from publishers like the American Anthropological Association, most University Presses, Brill Publishing, and others.
  • Cambridge Books Online: a wide array of Cambridge University Press e-books in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Ebook Central: formerly known as Ebrary, this multidisciplinary collection features thousands of ebooks.
  • Google Books: millions of digitized books in the public domain (pre-1923), including lots of Italian content.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online: Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books, including a wide selection of works on Anthropology. 
  • Project MUSE: Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Scroll down the page