Research Guides: Religious Worlds of New York: Databases and Journals

Databases and Journals

The following resources can only be accessed in the library.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS. This link opens in a new window
"Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with the 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries"--EBSCO website.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS.

Guide to Social Science & Religion in Periodical Literature
Indexes 115 periodicals emphasizing religion and social work, as well as denominational periodicals ranging from liberal to conservative viewpoints.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
World Religion Database
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050.

Readings on the Religious Diversity of New York City

The Religious Worlds of New York web page features a reading list that will gives a sense of the religious diversity of New York City, through the work of anthropologists, historians, photographers, and journalists who have explored the religious lives of New Yorkers.