Religious Worlds of New York: Reference Works

A multicultural survey of established and new American religions, this exhaustive three-volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interaction between religion and ethnicity, regionalism and popular culture.

This important new reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches, and include: Akan, Aladura, Azusa Street Mission, Black theology, candomble, Dominican vodun, the Harrist movement, Jamaa, Macumba, Mission des Noirs, Mt. Sinai Holy Church, Nuer, Pentecostalism, Pocomania, Santería, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Unification Church, Yoruba, and many more. Photos, illustrations, and source material round out the package.

A resource ideal for students as well as general readers, this two-volume encyclopedia examines the diversity of the Asian American and Pacific Islander spiritual experience. * Covers both common motifs in Asian American religious culture, such as Chinese New Year festivals and mortuary rituals, as well as many newly established faith traditions * Contains entries on rarely addressed topics within Asian American religion, such as Hezhen Shamanism

How did Tin Pan Alley get its name? Which structure in New York City contains debris from the bombing of London during World War II? Who was the last Republican presidential candidate to carry New York City? Where are Manhattan Beach, Manhattan College, and Manhattan Transfer? (None are in Manhattan.) When and how did the population of New York increase by 70 per cent overnight? Answering questions such as these, this encyclopaedia spans a range of facts about what many consider to be America's most fascinating city. It covers subjects throughout the five boroughs from prehistory to the present.

Is New York a post-secular city? Massive immigration and cultural changes have created an increasingly complex social landscape in which religious life plays a dynamic role. Yet the magnitude of religion's impact on New York's social life has gone unacknowledged. New York Glory gathers together for the first time the best research on religion in contemporary New York City. It includes contributors from every major research project on religion in New York to provide a comprehensive look at the current state of religion in the city. Moving beyond broad surveys into specific case studies of communities and institutions, it provides a window onto the diversity of religious life in New York. From Italian Catholics, Mormons, Muslims, and Russian Jews to Zen Buddhists, Rastafarians, and Pentecostal Latinas, New York Glory both captures the richness of religious life in New York City and provides an important foundation for our understanding of the current and future shape of religion in America.