Books:
Carolyn Hamilton et. al, "A Prisoner in the Garden: Opening Nelson Mandela's Prison Archive," Johannesburg: Penguin Books, 2005.
Verne Harris, "Archives and Social Justice: A South African Perspective," Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 2007.
Richard Cox and David A. Wallace, "Archives and the Public Good: Accountability and Records in Modern Society," Westport, Conn.: Quorum Books, 2002.
Articles:
"The Archival Sliver: Power, Memory, and Archives in South Africa," by Verne Harris
"Archives for All: Professional Responsibility and Social Justice" by Randall C. Jimerson
"A Critique of Social Justice as an Archival Imperative: What Is it We're Doing That's All That Important?" by Mark A. Greene
"Displaced Archives, Displaced History: Recovering the Seized Archives of Indonesia," by Michael Joseph Karabinos
"Embracing the Power of Archives" by Randall C. Jimerson
"Opening Archives: Respectful Repatriation," by Kimberly Christen
"The Strange Career of Jim Crow Archives: Race, Space, and History in the Mid Twentieth-Century American South," by Alex H. Poole
For the academic year 2014/2015 the Student Senate of the Union Theological Seminary adopted a theme, #LoveInAction. Inspired by Cornel West’s words, “Never forget that justice is what love looks like in public,” #LoveInAction embodies perfectly the activist spirit held by the students, alumni/ae, and faculty here at Union, both today and historically.
This site was created in order to capture and celebrate the tremendous amount of work that Union students, alumni/ae, and faculty have done and have been doing to demonstrate #LoveInAction. All Union Theological Seminary students, alumni/ae, and faculty are invited and encouraged to contribute their original digital content, such as images, video, audio, and/or writings that they feel help to document #LoveInAction.
We hope that the collective contents of this site will serve not only to honor and commemorate these acts of Love but also to educate and inform the public, now and tomorrow. To view contributions made so far please visit our site here.
In the 2016/2017 academic year, the Burke Library will be leading a project in which UTS students can learn how to conduct oral histories. Please contact elizabeth.call@columbia.edu for more information.