LexisNexis Academic
A wide-ranging full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Westlaw Next Campus Research (Thomson Reuters)
HeinOnline
Coverage: Current, and 20th Century, 19th Century, 18th Century
The primary emphasis of HeinOnline is on federal and state laws and on documents that provide context for them. Use this database for access to collections such as U.S. Statutes at Large; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; and U.S. Supreme Court Library. This database also provides access to collections of strong general interest, such as the Federal Register Library; the Congressional Record; and the U.S. Presidential Library. Most document series covered here are covered from their beginnings up until the present.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Coverage: Current, and 20th Century, 19th Century, 18th Century
ProQuest® legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. Includes histories for laws passed during the current congress and for laws dating back as far as the first congress. New legislative histories are still being added in 2015. For more on the range of dates covered in Legislative Insight, click here.
The making of modern law. U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978 (Thomson Gale)
This database contains ... records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. The collection is derived from two essential reference sources. For the period 1832 (when printed Court records began) through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America's first law library, located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. For 1915-1978 the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, a nationally recognized research facility and the single largest member supported law library in the United States.--Publisher's web site.
Index to legal periodicals & books
"Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. The Index of Legal Periodicals includes indexing of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications. With nearly 300 law reviews, it provides international coverage including periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand."
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective : 1908-1981
"A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes."
Oyez
"Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices."
SCOTUSblog
"SCOTUSblog is devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards. The blog is provided as a public service.
Tom Goldstein and Amy Howe, husband and wife, founded the blog in 2002. Reporter Lyle Denniston, who recently retired from the blog after 58 years of covering the Court, signed on a few years later. Other permanent and part-time staff members have joined over time. Significant contributions have come from other lawyers at Tom’s law firm (where Amy was formerly a partner as well), as well as their students at Stanford and Harvard Law Schools. Now during the course of any given year, up to a hundred people work on or write for the blog." from: http://www.scotusblog.com/about/
Supreme Court of the United States
Provides PDFs of Supreme Court decisions, slip opinions, etc.
Please note that many states provide access to recent opinions by their Supreme Courts or State Courts. For example: