Bill of Rights (POLS-UN3921-001): Biographies
Resources that Include Living as well as Deceased Persons
- Gale biography in context . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information. - Oxford African American studies center : the online authority on the African American experience. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The core content includes: the African American national biography; and Black women in America, 2nd ed. - Dictionary of literary biography complete online . This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- AncestryLibrary.com . This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search a wide range of historical records that record specific aspects of the lives of individuals. Useful for general historical research as well as genealogical research. Includes records in the following categories: Birth, Marriage & Death; Census & Voter Lists; Immigration & Travel; Military; Schools, Directories & Church Histories; Tax, Criminal, Land & Wills; and Photos & Maps. This resource is often updated by the addition of new collections of records. Geographic scope is wide ranging. The most extensive series of records included are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Western Europe, Canada, and Australia.
• The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. (Current Series) (New York : J.T. White, 1930- )
Butler Reference, Butler 310 & 301 (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: R041 N21
Library has: A-M
Rare Book, Butler 6th Fl. East (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: REF E176 .N27 1984g
Library has: v.A-M
The focus here is on individuals judged to be of national significance who were living at the time of publication.
Resources Covering Deceased Persons Only
- American national biography online. This link opens in a new window"Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars." This resource is updated periodically, with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency.
- African American biographical database : AABD. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies and narratives of thousands of African Americans, spanning the years 1790-1950. Draws its initial content from the Chadwyck-Healey, Inc. publication: Black biographical dictionaries, 1790-1950. - World biographical information system . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen. The microfiche set compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century.
• The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. [Permanent series] (New York : J.T. White, 1892, c1891-)
Butler Reference, Butler 310 & 301 (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: R041 N21
Library has: v.1-14,v.15a-N63
Rare Book, Butler 6th Fl. East (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: REF E176 .N27 1984g
Library has: v.1-v.N-63
1892-1984
Provides "biographical sketches" of persons judged to be "prominently connected with the history of the nation." "Not only do rulers, statesman, soldiers, persons noteworthy in the church, at the bar, in literature, art science, and the professions find place, but also those who have contributed to the industrial and commercial progress and growth of the country." From "Introduction," Volume 1, vii. Especially valuable as a source of information regarding individuals who lived in the 19th century who may not be covered in American National Biography.