Contemporary Western Civilization I: Finding Articles
Databases
Remember to always use CLIO to access these.
- Go to http://clio.columbia.edu.
- Click on 'Databases'
- Search for the name of the database, i.e. JSTOR or MLA
- Click on the link next to the green check mark to access the database you want.
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The premier humanities database- includes full-text PDFs of most major journals. The latest 3-5 years of journal issues are often not available on JSTOR; use CLIO/e-link to find the full-text of very recent articles. Remember to use Advanced Search! - MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for researching literature and cultural history. Use E-link to find the full-text. - Historical abstracts with full text . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. - History of science, technology, and medicine . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. It covers the contents of over 600 journals, and the partial contents of several hundred more.More Info: - Google scholar . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Literally the smart, scholarly version of Google. Includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly materials. Use this link or connect through CLIO to ensure that you have full-text access. - Philosopher's index . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of releted fields such as education, history, law and religion. - ATLA religion database with ATLASerials . This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
- ProQuest. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals and e-books, contemporary magazines and trade publications, and newspapers (both current and historical).
