Contemporary Western Civilization I: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Reference Sources
The Cambridge Companion to Plato by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0521430186Publication Date: 1992This volume contains fourteen essays discussing Plato's views about knowledge, reality, mathematics, politics, ethics, love, poetry, and religion. There are also analyses of the intellectual and social background of his thought, the development of his philosophy throughout his career, the range of alternative approaches to his work, and the stylometry of his writing.
The Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521839631Publication Date: 2007This Companion provides a comprehensive account of this outstanding work, which remains among the most frequently read works of Greek philosophy, indeed of Classical antiquity in general. The sixteen essays, by authors who represent various academic disciplines, bring a spectrum of interpretive approaches to bear in order to aid the understanding of a wide-ranging audience, from first-time readers of the Republic who require guidance, to more experienced readers who wish to explore contemporary currents in the work's interpretation.
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle by Call Number: Milstein B485 .C35 1995ISBN: 0521411335Publication Date: 1995
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521192767Publication Date: 2014This Cambridge Companion includes twenty essays by leading scholars of Aristotle and ancient philosophy that cover the major issues of this text. The essays in this volume shed light on Aristotle's rigorous and challenging thinking on questions such as: can there be a practical science of ethics? What is happiness? Are we responsible for our character? How does moral virtue relate to good thinking? Can we act against our reasoned choice? What is friendship? Is the contemplative life the highest kind of life?
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle's Politics by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781107004689Publication Date: 2013In this Companion, distinguished scholars offer new perspectives on the work and its themes. After an opening exploration of the relation between Aristotle's ethics and his politics, the central chapters follow the sequence of the eight books of the Politics, taking up questions such as the role of reason in legitimizing rule, the common good, justice, slavery, private property, citizenship, democracy and deliberation, unity, conflict, law and authority, and education. The closing chapters discuss the interaction between Aristotle's political thought and contemporary democratic theory.
The Cambridge Companion to Augustine by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781107025332Publication Date: 2014This new edition of the Companion has eleven new chapters, revised versions of others, and a comprehensive updated bibliography. It will furnish students and scholars of Augustine with a rich resource on a philosopher whose work continues to inspire discussion and debate.
Augustine's City of God: A Critical Guide by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521199940Publication Date: 2012The essays in this volume offer a rich examination of those themes, using the central, contested distinction between a heavenly city on earthly pilgrimage and an earthly city bound for perdition to elaborate aspects of Augustine's political and moral vision.
The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521831604Publication Date: 2006In a discerning summation of the field, Jane McAuliffe brings together an international team of scholars to explain its complexities. Comprising fourteen chapters, each devoted to a topic of central importance, the book is rich in historical, linguistic and literary detail, while also reflecting the influence of other disciplines.
The Cambridge Companion to Machiavelli by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521861250Publication Date: 2010The Cambridge Companion to Machiavelli brings together sixteen original essays by leading experts, covering his life, his career in Florentine government, his reaction to the dramatic changes that affected Florence and Italy in his lifetime, and the most prominent themes of his thought, including the founding, evolution, and corruption of republics and principalities, class conflict, liberty, arms, religion, ethics, rhetoric, gender, and the Renaissance dialogue with antiquity.The Cambridge Companion to Martin Luther by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0521816483Publication Date: 2003This Cambridge Companion provides an accessible introduction to Martin Luther for students of theology and history and for others interested in the life, work and thought of the first great Protestant reformer. The book contains eighteen chapters by an international array of major Luther scholars.The Cambridge Companion to Hobbes's Leviathan by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521836678Publication Date: 2007This volume is a systematic attempt to incorporate work from both the Anglophone and Continental traditions, bringing together newly commissioned work by scholars from ten different countries in a topic-by-topic sequence of essays that follows the structure of Leviathan, re-examining the relationship among Hobbes's physics, metaphysics, politics, psychology, and religion.
The Cambridge Companion to Locke by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0521383714Publication Date: 1994Each volume of this series of companions The essays in this volume provide a systematic survey of Locke's philosophy informed by the most recent scholarship. They cover Locke's theory of ideas, his philosophies of body, mind, language, and religion, his theory of knowledge, his ethics, and his political philosophy. There are also chapters on Locke's life and subsequent influence.
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521869973Publication Date: 2007The Cambridge Companion to the Bible provides in-depth data and analysis of the production and reception of the canonical writings of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament, and also of the apocryphal works produced by Jewish and Christian writers.
The Cambridge Companion to Aquinas by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0521437695Publication Date: 1993In this volume ten leading scholars introduce all the important aspects of Aquinas' thought, ranging from its historical background and dependence on Greek, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy and theology, through the metaphysics, epistemology and ethics, to the philosophical approach to Biblical commentary.
The Cambridge Companion to Descartes by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0521366232Publication Date: 1992In this authoritative collection an international team of leading scholars in Cartesian studies present the full range of Descartes' extraordinary philosophical achievement. His life and the development of his thought, as well as the intellectual background to and reception of his work, are treated at length.
- OED online . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The most complete historical record of the English language: the largest dictionary of the English language, containing 615,000 word forms with 139,900 pronunciations, 219,000 etymologies, and 2,436,600 quotations. - Gale biography in context . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 780 volumes of over 130 respected Gale Group sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines. - Dictionary of literary biography complete online . This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- World biographical information system . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen. The microfiche set compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century. - Oxford classical dictionary / edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Classical Dictionary covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends. Containing over six thousand entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions, the OCD provides authoritative, signed articles with bibliographies and incorporates the insights and interests of a new generation of classical scholars. There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality, Asia and the Far East, Jews, and early Christians. Thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy by Call Number: Butler Stacks B111 .P74 2007ISBN: 9780810854871Publication Date: 20047The Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy presents the history of Greek philosophy and the philosophers who made it famous. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introduction, a glossary, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important philosophers, concepts, issues, and events.
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0313305749Publication Date: 2000Covering the period comprising the Renaissance and Reformation, this volume introduces a unique set of interdisciplinary biographical dictionaries providing basic information on the people who have contributed significantly to the culture of Western civilization. Unlike general dictionaries which focus on political and military figures, this book covers such figures as the religious leaders who contributed to the Reformation, scientists who paved the way for a new view of the universe, and Renaissance painters, sculptors, and architects, as well as writers, musicians, and scholars.
The Dictionary of the Reformation by Call Number: Butler Stacks BR302.8 .L4913 2004ISBN: 0824521196Publication Date: 2004This second installment of the Encyclopedia of Theology and Church covers every important aspect of the Reformation, including the major Protestant branches, developments in England, and the causes of the counter-Reformation in the Catholic Churches. Entries include biographies, theological issues, and historical sketches.
A Locke Dictionary by Call Number: Butler Stacks B1297 .Y64 1993ISBN: 0631175474Publication Date: 1993
Historical Dictionary of Hobbes Philosophy by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780810850651Publication Date: 2011The Historical Dictionary of Hobbes's Philosophy offers a comprehensive guide to the many facets of Hobbes's work. Through its chronology, introductory essay, bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on concepts, people, works, and technical terms, Hobbes's impact on philosophy and related fields is made accessible to the reader.
- Oxford handbooks online. Philosophy . This link opens in a new windowComplete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in philosophy.
- Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation / edited by Hans J. Hillerbrand. This link opens in a new windowConsists of information about the religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
- Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy / edited by Edward N. Zalta. This link opens in a new windowIncludes editorial and copyright information, as well as a site search engine. Offers an alphabetical index to the publication's contents. Contains information on individual philosophers and their beliefs.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam . This link opens in a new windowOnline ed. of v. 1 through 11 of the print encyclopaedia. Includes search engine enhanced by the inclusion of two original indices (Index of proper names; Index of subjects).
- EBR : Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception. This link opens in a new window"EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements."--Publisher's website.
- Encyclopedia of Christianity / editors, Erwin Fahlbusch ... [et al.] ; translator and English-language editor, Geoffrey W. Bromiley ; statistical editor, David B. Barrett ; foreword, Jaroslav Pelikan. This link opens in a new window"The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies. A special feature is the statistical information dispersed throughout the articles on the continents and over 170 countries. Social and cultural coverage is given to such issues as racism, genocide, and armaments, while historical content shows the development of biblical and apostolic traditions. This comprehensive work, while scholarly, is intended for a wide audience and will set the standard for reference works on Christianity."--"Outstanding reference sources 2000", American Libraries, May 2000. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.
- Encyclopaedia of the Quran / Jane Dammen McAuliffe, general editor. This link opens in a new window"Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qurʾān. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qurʾānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qurʾānic studies"--Product contents.
- Religion past and present / edited by Hans Dieter Betz ... [et al.]. This link opens in a new windowReligion Past and Present is an updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion, Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart. It includes the latest developments in research and encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religious, theological, and biblical studies.
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment / edited by Alan Charles Kors. This link opens in a new windowCovering the "long" Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, this encyclopedia contains 700 fully searchable articles. Coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
Augustine through the Ages by Call Number: Butler Reference 301 R281.1 Au452ISBN: 080283843XPublication Date: 1999Fitzgerald presents an encyclopedic treatment of the life, thought, and influence of arguably the most influential Western Christian thinker after the apostles, Augustine of Hippo (AD 354-430).
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Call Number: Butler Reference 301 R940.6 En19 v.1-6ISBN: 0684805146Publication Date: 1999This set of volumes treats the full period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. It contains topical entries and biographies, and alphabetically arranged articles on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, science, and the arts, - revealing how people thought, what they believed and how they lived.
