For Information about Deceased Individuals
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. The Dictionary's coverage is extended each year in three updates, published in January, May, and September.
- Dictionary of Irish biography
A collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.
- American National Biography (ANB Online)
"Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation." Based on the American National Biography (ANB, 24 volumes, 1999) and its supplements, American National Biography (ANB Online) is "updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities." Updated quarterly.
- World biographical information system
For Information about Living or Deceased Individuals
- Dictionary of literary biography complete online
Provides literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, for more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics. Illustrations are included.
- Gale Biography in Context
Provides biographical articles on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 780 volumes of over 130 reference sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines.
- African American National Biography
included in Oxford African American studies center
Covers African American life for almost five centuries, from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1528 to notable black citizens of the present day. Completed articles are being regularly added to this online edition.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.