History: Background Information

Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

clio6193099

"A collaborative research platform that supports research effectiveness and information literacy. It gives users a simplified and smart process for locating, analyzing, and utilizing the right information. It enhances this information with embedded technology features and automates the best practices of effective research. With its adaptable, state-of-the-art architecture, Literati is a flexible, long-term solution that can accommodate changing organizational needs and evolving technical requirements"--Products and services p.

Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.

Guide to Reference replaces the former Guide to Reference Books, published by the American Library Association in 1996. This new version offers expanded opportunities for searching, allowing the user to link to resources, compile lists, and take notes.

Complete and unabridged online edition of print Brill encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450.

The complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online. Extensive links make the online handbooks easy to navigate making these valuable reference resources more easily discoverable, accessible and searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 780 volumes of over 130 respected Gale Group sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more, with over 2.5 million full-text articles from 250 magazines.

Contains full text biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen. The microfiche set compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century.

"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

The first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the 4th century B.C. to the year 2002. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the DNB's articles are confined to people who died in or before 2002.