History: Find Articles

• America: History & Life
  Covers U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. Selectively indexes 1,700 journals for articles published from 1955 to the present. Full-text access is provided for many of the articles it lists.
   
• EBSCOhost research databases
  Allows you to cross-search simultaneously more than 80 databases in a wide range of academic fields. Includes the two history databases linked above as well as databases in anthropology, religion, law, and social sciences.
   

• Érudit   Érudit is a multi-institutional publishing consortium (Université de Montréal, Université Laval, Université du Québec à Montréal) and a non-profit society established in 1998. Érudit is the leading provider of Francophone and Canadian peer reviewed journals in North America. The platform gathers in one point nearly 150 Canadian scholarly and cultural publishers, including the most prestigious French-language Canadian university presses.

• Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Selectively indexes 1,800 journals for articles published from 1955 to the present. Full-text access is provided for many of the articles it lists.
• Searching Pointer: the two databases above can be searched together for full coverage of the world. When you are in one of these database, simply select "Choose Databases" and select the other.
   
• Gale Newsvault
  Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Times Digital Archive 1785-1985; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005.
   
• Google Scholar
   
• International Bibliography of Book Reviews
   
• International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text articles from over 600 scholarly journals, including the American Historical Review.  Coverage is from the earliest issues of a journal up to 5 years from current publication.
   
• Periodicals Archive Online
  International in scope and far-reaching in historical depth, Periodicals Archive Online covers a wide range of English- and foreign-language titles in the humanities, social sciences, and areas of general interest. Each journal is covered from its first issue onwards up until the journal ceased or until somewhere in the timeframe of 1995-2000.
   
• Project Muse
  Full-text articles from over 200 scholarly journals.  Coverage usually starts after 2000.
   
• Proquest
  More than eighty cross-searchable databases providing access to a wide range of full-text materials from: academic journals, trade publications, magazines, current newspapers, and selected major historical newspapers going back to their first issues.
   
• Web of Knowledge
  Extensive coverage of articles published in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
   
• World newspaper archive
  Includes searchable collection of historical newspapers from South America, Africa, Asia from early 19th century to 1922.

Ask A Librarian

Need help?

You can ask a librarian through online chat, by email, phone, or in person. 

FAQ

Have a quick question?

Check for the answer in our frequently asked questions.