French Language & Literature: Background Information
Reference Databases
- Bibliographie de civilisation medievale . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics. Slated to contain approximately 40,000 book records and 64,000 review records, as of November 2004 the database contains 10,000 records for authors A-I, covering the years 1957-2004. - Cambridge collections online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. - Cambridge histories online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. - Encyclopedia universalis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site lets users consult the Encyclopaedia Universalis online. It contains articles on all areas of knowledge, signed by authors, and updated constantly. Furthermore, users have access to an Atlas with physical or technical maps which coincide with the text of the encyclopedia. - Grand corpus des dictionnaires . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the most important dictionaries of the French language, representing over 900,000 entries and their definitions. - Grand Ricci online. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database version of Le Grand Ricci, which was published in six volumes and 7,300 pages, in addition to a volume with appendices. It offers approximately 300,000 Chinese words and expressions from the early beginnings to the end of the 20th century. Over 2,000 characters deal with the oldest forms of writing, or the so-called oracle bone inscriptions. Le Grand Ricci incorporates a wide spectrum of lexical domains, ranging from literature and history, to science, specialist technologies, medicine, law, philosophy, religion, etc. - Grand Robert de la langue francaise . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of the Grand Robert de la langue française includes all 6 volumes of the most current edition. - Oxford reference online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
Print and E-Book Sources
The Cambridge History of French Literature by ISBN: 9780521897860Publication Date: 2011From Occitan poetry to Francophone writing produced in the Caribbean and North Africa, from intellectual history to current films, and from medieval manuscripts to bandes dessinées, this History covers French literature from its beginnings to the present day.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by Call Number: Butler Reference Desk R840.3 Ox2ISBN: 0198661258Publication Date: 1995Expansion and revision of the 1959 Oxford Companion to French Literature.
A History of French Literature by Call Number: Butler Stacks PQ103 .C67 2002ISBN: 0631167587Publication Date: 2002This volume provides a complete history of the literature of France from its origins to the present day, going beyond traditional definitions of 'literature' into the world of the bestseller and, beyond words, to graphic fiction and cinema.
The Cambridge Companion to the French Novel: From 1800 to the Present by ISBN: 0521495636Publication Date: 1997
The Cambridge Introduction to Francophone Literature by Call Number: Butler Stacks PQ3809 .C673 2007gISBN: 9780521849715Publication Date: 2007This book provides an introduction to the literatures that have emerged in the French-speaking countries and regions of the world in recent decades, illustrating their astonishing breadth and diversity, and exploring their constant state of tension with the literature of France.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature by ISBN: 9780521861755Publication Date: 2008Medieval French literature encompasses 450 years of literary output in Old and Middle French, mostly produced in Northern France and England. These texts, including courtly lyrics, prose and verse romances, dits amoureux and plays, proved hugely influential for other European literary traditions in the medieval period and beyond. This Companion offers a wide-ranging and stimulating guide to literature composed in medieval French from its beginnings in the ninth century until the Renaissance.
