American History and American Studies: Images, Film, and Maps

Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more.

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release includes over 1260 titles, equaling approximately 420 hours

Associated Press archive of over photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.

Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Associated Press Collections Online includes a decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, etc. Contents provided by Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.

The collection consists of U.S. Collection, World Collection and Special Collection. In the U.S. Collection, there are over 100,000 cadastral (those showing land and property owners) maps detailing the geographic and development history of the United States over several hundred years. In addition there over 1,000 city directories related to the cadastral maps. The World Collection is a collection of maps covering the world through time. The Special Collection is an eclectic mix of maps, including decorative plates, portraits, and lithographs, as well as nautical and topographical maps.

Provides streaming access to more than 2,340 "video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements." Interview transcripts are fully searchable. Includes "interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject . . . the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history. Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well." [From publisher's site.]

"The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.. . . [It] provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada." (from publisher's description)

LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. It features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. A primary partner for this collection is Frameline, a nonprofit media organization that produces the San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, the oldest film festival devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender programming currently in existence.

From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time. This series is now available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students.

NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes every surviving program from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others.

An additional, specialized search module for the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.

"Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitised film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba."

Searchable database of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection allows users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.