New York City Atlases & Land Books: Bronx

Atlases and land books, published by Perris, Bromley, Robinson, Beers, Sanborn, and others, are invaluable for tracing information on neighborhood development and on the history of a particular site. Most of these are fire insurance maps and were originally created to help insure particular properties against fire. They were published every few years and show what was standing at a particular time. Details can include the footprint and construction materials of residences, industrial sites, and commercial buildings; property boundaries including old farm lines; building use; house and block numbers; and names and widths of streets.

Several of these atlases and land book publishers offered a correction service which kept the books up to date with the hundreds of changes that took place every year. The service made necessary changes in buildings, lots, zoning, etc. as officially recorded by New York City. Atlases and land books in this guide that have been corrected are marked with an * and are listed under their updated year, with the original publication date noted.

1867:

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
Avery Classics AA730 N48 B393 F

1868:

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
NYPL Digital Collections

1874:

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 V673 FF

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1876:

Cornell. Property atlas of the City of Yonkers, N.Y.: including a portion of the twenty fourth ward of New York City.
Avery Classics AA735 Y8 C815

1879:

Bromley. Atlas of the entire city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B78 1879 F

1882:

Bromley. Atlas of the 24th ward, city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B975 FF 

1885:

Robinson. Robinson’s atlas of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 R561 FF
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 R561 FF

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1887:

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York: volume 5, embracing the 23rd ward.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 R55 FF

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York. (6v.) (2nd.ed.)
Contents: v.5 23rd Ward (1887)
NYPL Digital Collections

1888-1897:

Robinson. Certified copies of important maps appearing to the 23rd and 24th wards, city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1890-1952:

Proquest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition.
New York City [Bronx] [Kings (Brooklyn)] [Queens] [Richmond (Staten Island)].
This includes Manhattan, even though it is not listed.
Contents: 1890-1902; 1903-1919; 1908-1947; 1908-1952; New and additional sheets.

New York City : Special Atlases. These are unique maps.
Contents: 1903 Street cleaning, Bronx; 1913 Dry goods district, Manhattan; 1919-1921 Warehouse map, Hoboken, Manhattan, Bronx; 1922 Pier map of New York harbor; 1928 Pier map of New York Harbor

1891:

Bien. Atlas of the Metropolitan District and adjacent country comprising the counties of New York, Kings, Richmond, Westchester and part of Queens in the State of New York, the county of Hudson and parts of the counties of Bergen, Passaic, Essex and Union in the State of New Jersey.
Avery AA9127 N4 B48 FF

Bien. Atlas of the Metropolitan District and adjacent country comprising the counties of New York, Kings, Richmond, Westchester and part of Queens in the State of New York, the county of Hudson and parts of the counties of Bergen, Passaic, Essex and Union in the State of New Jersey.
NYPL Digital Collections

1892-1895:

Maps or plans and profiles, with field notes and explanatory remarks, showing the location, width, grades...of the 23rd and 24th wards of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1901:

Hyde. Atlas of the borough of the Bronx, city of New York. (4v.)
Contents: v.2
NYPL Digital Collections

1904:

Bromley. Atlas and owners names, borough of the Bronx, sections 9 & 10.
NYPL Digital Collections

1905:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of the Bronx, annexed district from actual surveys and official plans.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4B8 B782 FF

Bronx. Topographical Bureau. Index to the Topographical survey sheets of the borough of the Bronx easterly of the Bronx River.
NYPL Digital Collections

1911:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Borough of the Bronx.
Contents: v.2. Sections 11-13
Avery Classics 131064

1911-1913:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Borough of the Bronx. (3v.)
Contents: v.1. Sections 9-10 (1911)--v.2. Sections 11-13 (1911)--v.3. Annexed district: Section 14-18 (1913)
NYPL Digital Collections

1912:

Hyde. Miniature atlas of the borough of the Bronx complete in two volumes.
Contents: Vol. 1. 23rd and 24th Ward  
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 M66
Digital copy 

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9,10,11,12, & 13
Avery Classics G1254.N4:3B7 G83 1912 
Avery Offsite G1254.N4:3B7 G83 1912 
Digital copy

1917:

*Sanborn. Insurance maps of the City of New York, Borough of the Bronx.
v. A (orig. publ. in 1908)--v. B (orig. publ. in 1908)
NYPL Digital Collections

1920:

Comstock. Block book of Twenty-Third Ward, New York City. (Bronx)
Avery AA9127 N4B8 L49 FF 
Avery Offsite AA9127 N4B8 L49 FF 

1921:

Bromley. Atlas of borough of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13
Avery AA9127 N4B8 B783 FF
Avery Classics AA9127 N4B8 B783 FF 

Bromley. Atlas of borough of the Bronx.
Contents: Sections 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13
NYPL Digital Collections

1922:

Sanborn. Pier map of New York harbour, including Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Long Island City, Staten Island and New Jersey shore.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 1922 Sa54 FF

1925:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York: Borough of the Bronx. (2v.)
Contents: v.2 North of 172nd St.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 G13 FF

1931:

Map of the borough...City of New York: map of Topographical Bureau.
Contents: Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Richmond
Avery AA9127 N4 M32 FFF

1933:

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 N4861 FF

*New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City. (orig. publ. in 1924)
Avery AA9127 N4 N486 FF

1935:

*Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of the Bronx, City of New York. (5v.)
Contents: v. 1. The 23rd Ward (orig. publ. in 1907)--v. 2. Lower part of the 24th Ward (orig. publ. in 1901)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Eb32 FFF

1938:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York: Borough of the Bronx. (2v.)
Contents: v.2 North of 172nd St.
Avery Classics AA735 N4B8 G131 FF

1963:

New York (N.Y.). City Planning Commission. Sectional map of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 N488711 FFF

1965:

Sanborn. Land use 1964-65 [map of the City of New York].
Avery AA9127 N4L1 Sa5 FFF

1979:

*Bromley. Bronx land book. (2v.) (v.1 orig. publ. in 1965, v.2 orig. publ. in 1963)
Avery AA9127 N4 B7821 FF

2012-2013:

Sanborn. Sanborn landbook, the Bronx, New York.
Avery AA9127 N4B8 Sa55 FF

2014:

Sanborn. Sanborn landbook, the Bronx, New York.
Avery AA9127 N4B7 Sa55 FF

2016/2017:

Sanborn. Sanborn landbook, the Bronx, New York.
Avery Reserves AA9127 N4B7 Sa55 FF