New York City Atlases & Land Books: Manhattan

Atlases and land books, published by Perris, Bromley, Robinson, Beers, Sanborn, and others, are invaluable for tracing information on neighborhood development and on the history of a particular site. Most of these are fire insurance maps and were originally created to help insure particular properties against fire. They were published every few years and show what was standing at a particular time. Details can include the footprint and construction materials of residences, industrial sites, and commercial buildings; property boundaries including old farm lines; building use; house and block numbers; and names and widths of streets.

Several of these atlases and land book publishers offered a correction service which kept the books up to date with the hundreds of changes that took place every year. The service made necessary changes in buildings, lots, zoning, etc. as officially recorded by New York City. Atlases and land books in this guide that have been corrected are marked with an * and are listed under their updated year, with the original publication date noted.

1811:

Bridges. This map of the city of New York and island of Manhattan, as laid out by the commissioners appointed by the legislature, April 3d, 1807 is respectfully dedicated to the mayor, aldermen and commonalty thereof.
Avery Classics AA735 N4Q3 B76 FFF

1819-1820:

Sackersdorff. Map of farms, commonly called the Blue book, 1815.
Drawn from the original on file in the Street Commissioner's office in the city of New York, together with lines of streets and avenues, laid out by John Randel, Jr. 1819-1820 [1868]. 
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa12 FF

Sackersdorff. Map of farms, commonly called the Blue book, 1815.
Drawn from the original on file in the Street Commissioner's office in the city of New York, together with lines of streets and avenues, laid out by John Randel, Jr. 1819-1820 [1868]. 
NYPL Digital Collections

1852-1856:

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (6v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 1st-4th (1852)--v.2 Wards 7th, 10th & 13th (1856)--v.3 Wards 5th, 6th, 8th & 14th (1853)--v.4 Wards 11th, 17th and part of 18th (1853)--v.5 Wards 9th, 15th and part of 16th (1854)--v.6 Wards 18th & 21st (1854)
Avery AA735 N4 P4211 FFF
Avery Classics AA735 N4 P42 FF

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (7v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 1st-4th (1852)--v.2 Wards 7th, 10th & 13th (1852)--v.3 Wards 5th, 6th, 8th & 14th (1853)--v.4 Wards 11th, 17th and part of 18th (1853)--v.5 Wards 9th, 15th and part of 16th (1854)--v.6 Wards 18th & 21st--v.7 19th & 20th Wards (1854)
NYPL Digital Collections

1853:

Maps and Profiles of Ground for New Reservoir Situated Between 86th & 96th Streets and 5th & 7th Avenues.
NYPL Digital Collections

1855:

Maps of the Wharves & Piers on the Hudson and East Rivers, from the Battery to 13th St New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

Perris. Maps of the City of New York 1st, 2nd, 3rd, & 4th Ward.
Contents: v.1
NYPL Digital Collections

1857-1862:

Perris. Maps of the city of New York. (7 v.) (3rd. ed)
Contents: v.1 (1857)--v.2 (1857)--v.3 (1859)--v.4 (1859)--v.5 (1859)--v.6 (1859)--v.7 (1862)
NYPL Digital Collections

1860:

Maps of the Wharves & Piers from the Battery to 61st Street on the Hudson River and from the Battery to 41st Street on the East River New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1867:

Dripps. Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 D831 FFF 

Dripps. Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek.
NYPL Digital Collections

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
Avery Classics AA730 N48 B393 F

1868:

Beers. Atlas of New York and vicinity.
NYPL Digital Collections

Dripps.  Plan of New York City from the Battery to Spuyten Creek
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 D83 FFF

Perris & Browne. Insurance maps of the City of New York.
Contents: v.2
NYPL Digital Collections

Sackersdorff. Map of the City of New York part 1: showing the streets, avenues, roads, public squares & places.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa1 FF

1874:

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 V673 FF

Viele. Topographical atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1879:

Bromley. Atlas of the entire city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B78 1879 F

Croes & Van Winkle. West side of the city of New York: between Eighth Avenue and Hudson River from Fifty-Ninth Street to One Hundred and Fifty-Fifth Street.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 W515 FF

1880:

Bromley. Atlas of the 19th & 22nd wards, city of New York.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B773 FF

Pidgeon. Atlas of the 16th, 18th, 20th & 21st Wards, city of New York.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 P543 FF

1881:

Speilmann & Brush. Certified copies of original maps of property in New York City.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 Sp4 FF

1885:

Robinson. Robinson’s atlas of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 R561 FF
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 R561 FF

Robinson & Pidgeon. Atlas of the city of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1889-1890:

Robinson. Robinson's real estate atlas of the City of New York, embracing Manhattan Island.
Contents: v.6 Part of 12th Ward, between 86th and 114th Streets (1889)--v.7 Part of 12th Ward, between 114th and 138th Streets (1890)
NYPL Digital Collections

1890-1893:

Robinson. Atlas of the City of New York. 3rd ed. (4 v.)
Contents: v.1 Wards 19th and 22nd --v.2 Ward 12th--v.3 Wards 16th, 18th and 21st--v.4 South of 14th Street
Avery AA735 N4 R56 FF

1890-1952:

Proquest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition.
New York City [Bronx] [Kings (Brooklyn)] [Queens] [Richmond (Staten Island)].
This includes Manhattan, even though it is not listed.
Contents: 1890-1902; 1903-1919; 1908-1947; 1908-1952; New and additional sheets.

New York City : Special Atlases. These are unique maps.
Contents: 1903 Street cleaning, Bronx; 1913 Dry goods district, Manhattan; 1919-1921 Warehouse map, Hoboken, Manhattan, Bronx; 1922 Pier map of New York harbor; 1928 Pier map of New York Harbor

1891:

Bien. Atlas of the Metropolitan District and adjacent country comprising the counties of New York, Kings, Richmond, Westchester and part of Queens in the State of New York, the county of Hudson and parts of the counties of Bergen, Passaic, Essex and Union in the State of New Jersey.
Avery AA9127 N4 B48 FF

Bien. Atlas of the Metropolitan District and adjacent country comprising the counties of New York, Kings, Richmond, Westchester and part of Queens in the State of New York, the county of Hudson and parts of the counties of Bergen, Passaic, Essex and Union in the State of New Jersey.
NYPL Digital Collections

1893:

Robinson. Atlas of city of New York.
Contents: v.4 South of 14th Street
NYPL Digital Collections

1897:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, Manhattan Island.
NYPL Digital Collections

1898-1899:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York… Manhattan. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St. (1899)--v.2 14th St. to 59th St. (1899)--v.3 59th St. to 110th St. (1898)
NYPL Digital Collections

1899:

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York, Borough of Manhattan. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St.--v.2 14th St. to 59th St.--v.3 59th St. to 110th St.--v.4 110th St to 145th St.
Avery AA9127 N4 B78 1898-99 FF

Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York, Borough of Manhattan. (4v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14th St.--v.2 14th St. to 59th St.--v.3 59th St. to 110th St.
NYPL Digital Collections

1910:

Hyde. Atlas of the Borough on Manhattan, City of New York, complete in one volume.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H99 FF 

1911:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan.
NYPL Digital Collections

1912:

Bromley. Atlas of the borough of Manhattan.
Avery AA735 N4 B7833 
Avery Classics 442361
Digital copy

Hyde. Miniature atlas of the borough of Manhattan: in one volume.
Avery AA735 N4 H993
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H993
Digital copy

Hyde. Miniature atlas of the borough of Manhattan : complete in two volumes.
Contents: v.2 From 72nd Street to Spuyten Duyvil
Avery AA735 N4 H9933
Digital copy

1914:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan.
Contents: v.4 110th St. to 145th St.
NYPL Digital Collections

1916:

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan.
NYPL Digital Collections

1920-1922:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan. (5v.)
Contents: v.2 14th St. to 59th St. (1920)-- v.3 59th St. to 110th St. (1921)
NYPL Digital Collections

1921:

Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, city of New York.
Avery AA735 N4 B78 FF
Avery Classics AA735 N4 B78 FF

1922:

Bromley. Atlas of the city of New York, borough of Manhattan. (5v.)
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14^th St.--v.2 14^th St. to 59^th St.--v.3 59^th St. to 110^th St.--v.4 110^th St. to 145^th St.--v.5 145^th St. to Spuyten Duyvil
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B7851 FF

Sanborn. Pier map of New York harbour, including Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Long Island City, Staten Island and New Jersey shore.
Avery Classics AA735 N4 1922 Sa54 FF

1923:

*Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v.3 From 72nd St. to 125th St. (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H9854 FFF

*Bromley. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York. (orig. publ. in 1921)
NYPL Digital Collections

1924:

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of the city of New York: Sectional plans of the city of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 N48595 FF

1925:

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 F
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 F

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1927:

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1927a F

Bromley. Land book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1930:

Bromley. Manhattan land book.
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 F

Bromley. Land Book of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1931:

Map of the borough...City of New York: map of Topographical Bureau.
Contents: Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Richmond
Avery AA9127 N4 M32 FFF

1932:

*Bromley. Atlas of the City of New York Manhattan. (orig. publ. in 1913)
Contents: 14^th St. to 59^th St. Part 1 & 2
Avery Classics 626273 FF

1933:

*Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v.4 From 125th St. to Spuyten Duyvil (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H9854 FFF

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 N4861 FF

New York (N.Y.). Board of Estimate and Apportionment. Map of New York City. (orig. publ. in 1924)
Avery AA9127 N4 N486 FF

1934:

Bromley. Manhattan land book. (with some corrections)
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F
Avery Offsite AA9127 N4 B782 1934 F

1935:

*Hyde. Atlas of the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York: complete in four volumes. (4v.)
Contents: v. 1 From Battery to 23rd St. (orig. publ. in 1907)--v.2 From 23rd St. to 72nd St (orig. publ. in 1906)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 H9854 FFF

1943:

*Sanborn. Atlas of the City of New York…Manhattan. (orig. publ. in 1930)
Contents: v.3 59^th St. to 110^th St.
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa54 FF

1952:

*Sanborn. Insurance maps of the city of New York.
Contents: Manhattan v.8 North (orig. publ. in 1911)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa58 FFF

1955:

Bromley. Manhattan Land Book of the City of New York.
NYPL Digital Collections

1957:

*Sanborn. Insurance maps of the city of New York.
Contents: Manhattan v.6 East (orig. publ. in 1911)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa58 FFF

1959:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book. (orig. publ. in 1955)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 B782 1955 F

1960:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book. (orig. publ. in 1955)
Avery AA9127 N4 B782 1955 F

1963:

New York (N.Y.). City Planning Commission. Sectional map of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 N488711 FFF

1965:

*Sanborn. Insurance maps of the city of New York.
Contents: Manhattan v.7 North (orig. publ. in 1912)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa58 FFF

1975:

*Bromley. Manhattan land book of the City of New York. (orig. publ. in 1970)
Avery Classics AA735 N4 B782 1970 F

1983:

*Sanborn. Atlas of the City of New York…Manhattan.
Contents: v.1 Battery to 14^th St. (orig. publ. in 1959)--v.2 14^th St. to 59^th St. (orig. publ. in 1957)--v.4 110^th St. to 145^th St. (orig. publ. in 1932)
Avery Classics AA9127 N4 Sa54 FF

1990-2015:

Sanborn. Manhattan land book of the City of New York.
Avery AA9127 N4 Sa535 FF

2002:

Sanborn. Sanborn CitySets.
Digitized Sanborn maps for New York City (south of 60th Street) and some of downtown Brooklyn. Layers of data include building footprints (with heights and data), streets and bridges, orthophotos, and TIN elevation (for 3D mapping)
Lehman Library Data Service CD-ROM G1251.A15 S26 2005g

2016/2017:

Sanborn. Manhattan land book of the City of New York.
Avery Reserves AA9127 N4 Sa535 FF