Research Guides: Population, Migration and Refugee Studies: U.S. Government Agencies

Using Government Information

Some useful places to begin:

U.S. Congress. Congressional Budget Office: The CBO publishes numerous publications relating to national security, including:
Congressional Publications: Access to hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
Congressional Research Service Reports: CRS, a branch of the Library of Congress, prepares research reports at the request of members of Congress, their staff, and Congressional committees.
Government Accountability Office (GAO) : Known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
US Trade Representatives Office Topics: USTR is an agency with decades of specialized experience in trade issues and regions of the world. It negotiates directly with foreign governments to create trade agreements, to resolve disputes, and to participate in global trade policy organizations.

For more see the Government Information portal at Columbia.

U.S. Departments

Department of State: The primary source of foreign affairs information for the U.S. Government and is responsible for implementing the President's foreign policies.
- Don't forget that the State Department has had many versions of their website that can be accessed at their web-archive.
- Background Notes - U.S. Department of State: Brief profiles of most countries of the world. Includes information on government type and structure, names of major government officials, and an overview of foreign relations.
Department of Homeland Security: On March 1, 2003, the majority of 180,000 employees from 22 agencies were merged to create the 15th department in the federal government. The department has three primary missions: prevent terrorist attacks within the United States, reduce America's vulnerability to terrorism, and minimize the damage from potential attacks and natural disasters.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee Resettlement
- Refugee Arrival Data
- State Profiles: State Refugee Program
U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Citizen and Immigration Services
- Immigration and Customs Enforcement
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.
U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration.: This agency has primary responsibility for formulating policies on population, refugees, and migration, and for administering U.S. refugee assistance and admissions programs.
- Proposed Refugee Admissions for FY ...
- Report of the Visa Office.
- Reports on U.S. Immigration
  U.S. Government Accountability Office.

Organizations

U.S. Census Bureau.
- United States Foreign-Born Population: contains links to Foreign-Born Profiles, Reports, Data Tables, and Multimedia

State Level

The New Neighbors: a User's Guide to Data on Immigrants in U.S. Communities
New York City, Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs
The New York Immigration Coalition: An umbrella policy and advocacy organization for more than 200 groups in New York State that work with immigrants and refugees.
- Working for a Better Life : a Profile of Immigrants in the New York State Economy (2007)
Council of State Governments
National Conference of State Legislatures
National Governors Association
New York State Documents
US Conference of Mayors

U.S. Government Websites

National Archives: Links and indexes to government publications in the National Archives.
Science.gov : Provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
USA.gov: Official guide to government information and services

ProQuest Tools

ProQuest Congressional: This is the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research.
ProQuest Legislative Insight: This is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws.

International Government Information

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: A country-by-country directory listing heads of state and major government officials.
European Union Documents: EU's reports, Statistics, and EU libraries.
UN Documents
World Bank Development Reports: Reports on economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Published annually since 1978
Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security of the People Republic of China