Research Guides: Gender in Policy & International Affairs: Find Other Resources

Reference Material

Reference materials provide good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

General Reference Materials:

Gale virtual reference library: Click "Topic finder" for an amazing tool. Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Bibliographies: Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

Research Methods:

Sage Research Methods: Includes things like "Methods Map" and "Project Planner"

Directories:

Reports

Global Gender Gap Report, from the World Economic Forum
Gender in the World Bank: Provides reports, news, and statistics.
Human Development Report. Annual from the U.N.
Industrial Development Report. Annual from United Nations.
The Least Developed Countries Report. Annual from the United Nations
Progress of the World’s Women: Progress of the World’s Women is UNIFEM’s biennial investigation of progress made towards a world where women live free from violence, poverty and inequality.
Women in Development: A series of publications from the U.S. Census Bureau.
World Survey on the Role of Women in Development: Irregular from the United Nations.

General Social Science

Social Theory: Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.

Directories

Directory of Development Organizations: Lists thousands of development organizations. Prepared to facilitate international cooperation and knowledge sharing in development work, both among civil society organizations, research institutions, governments and the private sector.
International Organizations Funding Directory: Call Number: JZ 4839 .I68 2004g
Sustainable Development Policy Directory.: Call Number: HC 79 .E5 S773 2006

Research Methodology

Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research: Explores updates on the statistical knowledge and development of survey questionnaires, including analyzing the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process.
Handbook of Interview Research: Emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview.
Imagining Queer Methods Edited by Amin Ghaziani and Matt Brim
Internet, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys: The Tailored Design Method 3rd ed. Call Number: HM538 .D55 2009
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration
Qualitative Methods for Practice Research
Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens: E-resource that highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry.
The SAGE Handbook Research Methods: Coverage of contemporary and developing Internet and online social research methods, spanning both quantitative and qualitative research applications.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Governance: Information on topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts.
Encyclopedia of Political Science: Consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from more than 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays. The encyclopedia supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory: Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them. Key Themes: Applied Ethics; Comparative Theory; Constitutional Thought; Critical Theory; Democratic Thought; Early Modern Thought; International Theory; Power and Authority; Self and Community.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
Encyclopedia of Social Theory (2005)
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences: Comprehensive coverage for social sciences.
International Encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences

Writing

Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process: Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.C59 S64 2010
Effective Writing in the Public Sector: Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.R46 S83 2014
Networking Arguments: Rhetoric, Transnational Feminism, and Public Policy Writing
The Op Ed Project

Gender in Policy & International Affairs: Find Other Resources

Reference Material

Gale virtual reference library: Click "Topic finder" for an amazing tool. Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Reports

General Social Science

Directories

Research Methodology

Imagining Queer Methods Edited by Amin Ghaziani and Matt Brim

Encyclopedias

Writing

Networking Arguments: Rhetoric, Transnational Feminism, and Public Policy Writing

Handbooks

Effectively managing nonprofit organizations

Handbook of Research on Women's Issues and Rights in the Developing World