Research Guides: Gender in Policy & International Affairs: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO).

Researchers in this field use EBSCO and ProQuest the most.

General, interdisciplinary databases:

JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of science core collection: Consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.

On this page, you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, take a workshop like database demo, or make an appointment with a librarian.

Gender Databases

Contemporary women's issues: Provides information about women in over 190 countries.
Eldis Gender Resource Guide: Search databases and access gender country profiles.
Gender Studies Database: Women's studies, gender studies, feminist theory and criticism. Coverage 1972 to the present
LGBT life: Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts: Provides articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.

Historical Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender since 1940
Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990: This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.
Women at work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps: Contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.
The quest for labor equality in household work : National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979: The collection consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S) from 1965-1979. The correspondence (1965-1979) reflects efforts in organizing the Union and includes such correspondents as Julian Bond, Senator Sam Nunn, Senator Herman Talmadge, Allen Williams, Andrew Young, and other Georgia and national political figures.
Women and social movements, international : 1840 to present: Published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. Includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, correspondence, diary entries, memoirs, and numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
Struggle for Women's Rights 1880-1990
Women's studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library : voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights

International Databases

Africa Wide Information: Coverage of all facets of African studies, dating back to the 16th century.
Cairn.info: Full text French language publications in the disciplines of economics, political science, sociology, law, history, and psychology, education, and more.
China Academic Journals: Access to Chinese academic periodicals in social science, economics/politics/law, history/philosophy, and education.
Contemporary women's issues: Provides information about women in over 190 countries.
Country Studies - Library of Congress: Book-length country profiles previously published in hardcover by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998.
CountryWatch forecast: A globally integrated 5-year macroeconomic forecast for each country of the world.
eHRAF World Cultures: A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
Europa World plus: Provides economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports: This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)'s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIU's analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
PARLINE Database: Information about parliaments in over 190 countries

Economic & Political Databases

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs online: A wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
EconLit: Comprehensive, indexed bibliography of worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economics journals, books, and collected volumes. Coverage: 1969-present.
EMIS-Emerging Markets Information Service: Provides general news and financial and economic information on emerging market countries.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI): Articles in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic Americans.
International Political Science Abstract: Indexes and abstracts articles in the field of political science, including the sub-fields of public administration, political theory and international relations.
OECD iLibrary: Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.
PAIS: Citations and abstracts for publications related to public affairs, 1915 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in political science journals. Coverage: 1975 to the present.

Social Science Databases

Family & society studies worldwide: Provides citations and some abstracts in social work, social science and family practice.
International Bibliography of the Social Science: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
PovertyNet: Sponsored by the WorldBank, PovertyNet offers comprehensive coverage, including measurements, trends, and strategies to reduce poverty. Special sections address the intersection of poverty with culture and health. Includes the Poverty Monitoring database and an online library.
Sage Research: Coverage includes more than 555 SAGE journals, more than 175,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with original graphics and tables in the following disciplines: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Science Direct: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts: Provides access from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Gender in Policy & International Affairs: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

Gender Databases

Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.

Historical Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender since 1940

Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990: This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.

Struggle for Women's Rights 1880-1990

Women's studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library : voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights

International Databases

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.

Economic & Political Databases

Social Science Databases