HIST W4604: Jews and the City: Basic Resources for Jewish Studies
Guide to research for the Columbia course: JEWS AND THE CITY: An Introduction to Jewish Urban History, 1815-1960
Basic Resources
This page details the most important resources applicable to nearly all aspects of Jewish Studies. The most important resources for accessing books, articles, and other sources are described below:
- CLIO : library web : Columbia University Libraries online catalog. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains catalog records for books, serials, newspapers, music scores, sound recordings, microforms, maps, computer files, archives and manuscripts, videorecordings, and other visual materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981, including some material acquired before that date. Also contains records for the U.S. Government Documents collection in Lehman Library. - Borrow Direct. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If you can't find a book in CLIO, check the Borrow Direct catalog! This combines the catalogs of Harvard, Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Columbia, Penn, Brown, University of Chicago, and MIT. Books requested from Borrow Direct generally arrive within 3-4 days.
- Interlibrary Loan
- This link opens in a new window
Interlibrary Loan is your resource for books not found in CLIO or Borrow Direct, as well as articles or book chapters not available directly through Columbia. Click on the "Request It" link anywhere on the Columbia University Libraries' website to navigate to the ILL request form. Or use the E-Link feature from databases or catalogs (such as WorldCat) to link to an auto-filled ILL form. - Institute for Israel and Jewish StudiesThe IIJS is the meeting place for all things Jewish Studies. It is the point of contact for students, faculty, and other scholars from History, Germanic Languages, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, and many other departments to meet in an interdisciplinary way. The IIJS also offers a broad array of lectures and public programming in Jewish Studies.
Print Resources
Judaica Reference Sources by Call Number: R016.296 C98ISBN: 1591581338Publication Date: 2004-02-28
Reader's Guide to Judaism by Call Number: BM50 .R43 2000ISBN: 1579581390Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Online Resources
- RAMBI: The Index to Articles in Jewish StudiesMaintained by The National Library of Israel, this is a searchable catalog for articles and book chapters in all fields of Jewish Studies. Note that the catalog only lists references to the articles, not the articles themselves. Check CLIO to see if Columbia holds the resources listed in your search (they are often accessible online).
- Index to Jewish periodicals . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. - ATLA religion database with ATLASerials . This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Coverage begins in 1949 with some earlier indexing. Full text for many citations. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis. JSTOR also contains Hebrew journals, such as Tsiyon, Tarbits, and many more. - Project Muse. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. - Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik, editor-in-chief ; Michael Berenbaum, executive editor. This link opens in a new windowProvides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. Also available in print (Butler Reference, R032.96 En32).
- Index to the study of religionsIndex to the Study of Religions publishes English language abstracts drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages reflecting a wide array of complementary disciplines. The main objective of the Index to the Study of Religions is to facilitate the work and international collaboration of scholars in the academic study of religions and related fields. The database is updated with 600 to 750 entries per year. Articles are classified into the following three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions