Research Guides: Sociology: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). On this page, you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, or make an appointment with a librarian.

We recommend you start with EBSCO, because SocIndex is indexed in EBSCO.

All of these interdisciplinary databases are good for sociology research also:

JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full-text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items.
Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Gender Databases

Contemporary women's issues: Provides information about women in over 190 countries.
Gender Studies Database: Women's studies, gender studies, feminist theory and criticism. Coverage 1972 to the present
LGBT life: Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.

Other Helpful Databases

FRANCIS: A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database with international scope, covering Humanities and Social sciences. Coverage 1984 to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.

Sociology Databases

Annual Review of Sociology: Provides full text of the articles in these volumes from 1975 to present.
ATLA Religion Database: Provides journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Coverage begins in 1949
Index to Current Urban Documents: Region I, New England: Citations & full-text for municipal publications from New England.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
PAIS: Includes references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies. Coverage 1915 to the present.
Population Index on the Web: Citations for publications on demography and related research fields.
Sage Research: Coverage includes more than 555 SAGE journals, more than 175,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with original graphics and tables in the following disciplines: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Science Direct: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
SocINDEX with full text: Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology and its related disciplines, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, and, social work.This lives in EBSCO.
Social Sciences Citation Index: U.S. and international cited references, bibliographic information, some author abstracts, links to full-text. Coverage 1965 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text: Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.
Sociological Abstracts: Provides access from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Historical Databases

ProQuest history vault. Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990: This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.
ProQuest history vault. Women at work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps: Contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.
The quest for labor equality in household work : National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979: The collection consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S) from 1965-1979. The correspondence (1965-1979) reflects efforts in organizing the Union and includes such correspondents as Julian Bond, Senator Sam Nunn, Senator Herman Talmadge, Allen Williams, Andrew Young, and other Georgia and national political figures.
Women and social movements, international : 1840 to present: Published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. Includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, correspondence, diary entries, memoirs, and numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.

Sociology: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

Gender Databases

Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.

Other Helpful Databases

Sociology Databases

Historical Databases

ProQuest history vault. Struggle for women's rights, organizational records, 1880-1990: This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.