Pakistan Studies: Media
Resources related to Pakistan, with emphasis on politics and society
Afghanistan & Pakistan Media (Images)
- Afghanistan: Images from the Harrison Forman CollectionDigital collections, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee. Contains images that document the life and culture of Afghanistan in the 1950s and 1960s. The photographs portray the daily life of Afghanis, capture the beauty of the land, and document historic sites, including the great Buddhas of Bamiyan destroyed by the Taliban in 2001.
- Afghanistan school textbooksSchool textbooks grades 1-10, Ministry of Education, Government of Afghanistan
- Harappa.comThe major website on the ancient Indus Civilization (3500-1700 BCE) since 1995. Leading scholars from India, Pakistan, the US, UK, and Europe have published their work in slideshow, essays and articles that cover the basic facts and the latest research. The site was founded by Omar Khan. It went online in November 1995 and was relaunched in December 2015 on the open-source Drupal platform. Links to essays, books, slideshows, and videos.
- Louis Dupree CollectionAfghanistan Center at Kabul University
- Photographs of Central AsiaHistorical and contemporary photographs, hosted and some taken by Thomas Cole, a private dealer who specializes in tribal weavings and textiles from Central Asia.
Media (Images)--South Asia Multi-Region Collections
- AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Asia and Middle EastOver 20,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. Coverage includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Thailand (among other countries).
- Alka Patel: South Asian and Cuban Art and Architecture
This link opens in a new window
Documents Islamic art and architecture from 12th to the 18th centuries in India and Pakistan. . From ARTstor collections.
- ARTstor . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse by "geography" to locate country specific images.
- American Council for Southern Asian Art (ACSAA) Collection (University of Michigan)
- This link opens in a new window
From ARTstor collections. - Ames Library of South Asia--ImagesSearch selected digitized photographs from the Ames Library of South Asia, University of Minnesota. Or browse the general collection and stereoscopic images of India. Includes maps, illustrations and photographs dating from the 18th through the 20th century.
- AP images. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Associated Press archive of over photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
- Art ProjectGoogle Cultural Institute. The Art Project is a unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art institutions to enable people to discover and view artworks online in extraordinary detail.A wide range of institutions, large and small, traditional art museums as well as less traditional settings for great art are represented in the expanded Art Project.
- Asian Cultures CollectionMaterials in the Earlham collection are drawn from a broad spectrum of Asian cultures and includes materials both historic and contemporary
- Asian Historical ArchitectureA photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage in 21 countries. Multiple contributors, webmaster: Timothy M. Ciccone
- Asianart.comThe on-line journal for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia
- ASIANetwork-Luce Asian Art in the Undergraduate Curriculum ProjectSeeks to tap the Asian art and items of visual culture that exist on selected ASIANetowork college campuses and help faculty who are teaching about Asia integrate these resources into their courses.
- Beyond the Taj: Architectural Traditions and Landscape Experience in South AsiaCornell University Library. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
- Beyond the Taj: Architectural Traditions and Landscape Experience in South Asia (Cornell University Library)
- This link opens in a new window
From ARTstor collections. - British Library--Asia, Pacific & Africa CollectionsBegun by the East India Company in 1801, this fascinating survey of the landscape and architectural heritage of South Asia spans the late-18th to mid-20th centuries. Online gallery.
- Huntington Archive of Asian ArtCountries covered in the collection include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Myanmar (Burma). Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, and Islamic works as well. Also includes the largest photographic archive of Nepali art and architecture in the world. Also see The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art--Database.
- Indira Gandhi National Centre for the ArtsThe arts are here understood to comprise the fields of creative and critical literature, written and oral; the visual arts, ranging from architecture, sculpture, painting and graphics to general material culture, photography and film; the performing arts of music, dance and theatre in their broadest connotation; and all else in fairs, festivals and lifestyle that has an artistic dimension. Digital resources include manuscripts, online books, photographs, slides, music/performance, Ganjifa cards, etc.
- International Collections DatabaseShowcases some of the visual materials held by the Special Collections Division of University of Washington Libraries. Feature selected photographs and postcards from Asia and South America including scenes from China, India, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Japan, 1870s-1930s. Represented are historical events, typical street scenes and native people in traditional dress.
- Mountains of Central Asia digital dataset
This link opens in a new window
PAHAR. Consists of a collection of books, journals and maps related broadly to the Himalayas and its outlying attached ranges including the Hindu Kush, the Karakorams, the Pamirs, the Tian Shan and the Kuen Lun as well as the Tibetan highlands and the Tarim basin. - Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA)An initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. Identifies online visual resources and indexes them in ways that are familiar to teachers and students in world history, world literature, and general art courses.
- South Asian and Himalayan ArtFreer Sackler collections. Browse artworks online.
- South Asian art photo collectionMicrofiche reproduction of original photographs in the American Committee for South Asian Art Archive. Avery and Offsite. Part three accompanied by printed guide.
- South Asian Diaspora Literature and Arts ArchiveThe SALIDAA digital archive covers five subject areas: literature, visual arts, theatre, dance and music. It features a wide variety of text-based and visual material such as excerpts of fiction, poetry and plays, manuscripts and writers' notes, art works, photographs, leaflets, programmes of events, stage and costume drawings of theatre and dance performances, lyrics, CD and record covers, and music scores relating to the substantial body of work produced by South Asian writers, artists, performers and musicians in England from 1947 to the present.
- Tasveer Ghar: A Digital Network of South Asian Popular Visual CultureDocuments materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.
- Trans Asia Photography ReviewDevoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia.
Media (Videos)--South Asia Multi-Region Collections
- British Hinduism Oral History ProjectA research project from 2000-2004 to record the experiences of Hindus who have settled in Britain. Includes final report and sample interviews.
- British Library SoundsListen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- Cambridge Centre of South Asian Studies : film collectionsUniversity of Cambridge. Approximately 50 individual collections totaling in the region of 80 hours of footage. Most of the material is 16mm or 8mm home movies, taken between 1911 and 1956, which give a unique perspective of life in South Asia towards the end of the British Empire and in the first years of independence. The collection covers a broad range of topics - the rescue of civilians and soldiers trapped inside Burma by swollen rivers after the country's fall to the Japanese in World War II, repairs on the railway line from Quetta to the Khyber Pass after the Quetta earthquake of 1935, relief work and disturbing scenes of the removal of bodies during the Partition period, the social lives of the Raj, children playing and going to school, royal weddings, Indian festivals and rites - the list is very long. The film collection is now available online in its entirety (with one or two omissions for copyright purposes).
- Centre of South Asian Studies Archive: AudioUniversity of Cambridge oral history archive; political leaders, journalists and educators who witnessed and shaped history.
- Colonial film : moving images of the British empireDetailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical note.
- CrossAsiaOffers access to research information for East and Southeast Asian studies.
- Culture UnpluggedAn online film archive to watch films (documentaries, short films, talks & more). This platform debuted in May 2008 with Asia + Middle East's first online festival followed by fifteen festivals since then. Cultureunplugged.com presents short length + feature length documentary / film content from independent film-makers and grassroot productions to a global audience, to not only promote the art of film-making, but above all to spread awareness and promote the collective contemplation over global/local challenges. It is an online venue that hosts a festival 6 months every year. With volunteer teams in India, USA, Indonesia and New Zealand.
- EHRAF archaeology This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text information (e.g. books, journal articles, and dissertations) on archaeological traditions from around the world. The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is unique in that the text is subject-indexed for quick retrieval of information. Every year more archaeological traditions are added to the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
- This link opens in a new window
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation. This resource provides a wealth of materials for the interdisciplinary study of ethnomusicology; whether the focus is on music, anthropology, dance, religion or spirituality. - Google Cultural InstituteDiscover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world.
- Oral history online . This link opens in a new window"Oral history online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals we've indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Our intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals."--Introd.
- Radio Free AsiaRFA is a private, nonprofit corporation that broadcasts news and information to listeners in Asian countries where full, accurate, and timely news reports are unavailable. Covers Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, North Korea, Tibet, Uyghur, Vietnam.
- Reconceptualizing the Cold War: On-the-ground Experiences in AsiaAn online archive of oral history collections concerning the Cold War and decolonization in Asia, with a particular focus on East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Shakespeare Performance in AsiaVideos of Asian Shakespeare performances including interactive maps and timelines, interviews, biographies of directors and actors, for understanding intercultural Shakespeare. See also The MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive.
- South Asia commons. This link opens in a new windowThe South Asia Archive is a fully searchable digital archive encompassing millions of pages of valuable research and teaching materials, providing online access to documents ranging from 1700 through to 1953. The Archive covers the Indian subcontinent, including India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh, and contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. The documents in the Archive are interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India in fields such as culture & society, industry & economy, science, technology & medicine, urban planning & administration, and politics & law. Most of the material is in English, about 30% of the documents are in vernacular languages, including Bengali and Sanskrit. Comprising material sourced from collectors and archivists in India by the South Asia Research Foundation (SARF), this Archive brings together a wealth of content relevant to both teaching and research.
- South Asian Digital CollectionLibrary of Congress. Features selected books, serials, and manuscripts related to the present-day countries of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
- The South Asian Literary Recordings Project, Library of Congress New Delhi OfficeLaunched in April 2000, the project has captured the readings of prominent South Asian poets, novelists, and playwrights. The authors recorded so far represent more than fifteen of the languages of India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
- South Asian Oral History ProjectUniversity of Washington Libraries. Interviews (videos and transcripts) with individuals who immigrated to the Seattle region from the 1950s to the 1980s and later.
- World cinema video collection. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The World cinema video collection provides access to online streaming titles from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.