South Asia Cross-Regional Resources: Media (Images) South Asia Multi-Regional

Over 20,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. Coverage includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Thailand (among other countries).

Search selected digitized photographs from the Ames Library of South Asia, University of Minnesota. Or browse the general collection and stereoscopic images of India. Includes maps, illustrations and photographs dating from the 18th through the 20th century.

Materials in the Earlham collection are drawn from a broad spectrum of Asian cultures and includes materials both historic and contemporary

A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage in 21 countries. Multiple contributors, webmaster: Timothy M. Ciccone

The on-line journal for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia

Seeks to tap the Asian art and items of visual culture that exist on selected ASIANetowork college campuses and help faculty who are teaching about Asia integrate these resources into their courses.

Cornell University Library. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.

Countries covered in the collection include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Myanmar (Burma). Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, and Islamic works as well. Also includes the largest photographic archive of Nepali art and architecture in the world. Also see The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art--Database.

The arts are here understood to comprise the fields of creative and critical literature, written and oral; the visual arts, ranging from architecture, sculpture, painting and graphics to general material culture, photography and film; the performing arts of music, dance and theatre in their broadest connotation; and all else in fairs, festivals and lifestyle that has an artistic dimension. Digital resources include manuscripts, online books, photographs, slides, music/performance, Ganjifa cards, etc.

Showcases some of the visual materials held by the Special Collections Division of University of Washington Libraries. Feature selected photographs and postcards from Asia and South America including scenes from China, India, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Japan, 1870s-1930s. Represented are historical events, typical street scenes and native people in traditional dress.

An initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. Identifies online visual resources and indexes them in ways that are familiar to teachers and students in world history, world literature, and general art courses.

Microfiche reproduction of original photographs in the American Committee for South Asian Art Archive. Avery and Offsite. Part three accompanied by printed guide.

The SADAA digital archive covers five subject areas: literature, visual arts, theatre, dance and music. It features a wide variety of text-based and visual material such as excerpts of fiction, poetry and plays, manuscripts and writers' notes, art works, photographs, leaflets, programmes of events, stage and costume drawings of theatre and dance performances, lyrics, CD and record covers, and music scores relating to the substantial body of work produced by South Asian writers, artists, performers and musicians in England from 1947 to the present.

Documents materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.

Devoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia.