News & Newspapers from Latin America, the Caribbean, Portugal, and Spain: Historical News
World Newspaper Archive
Searchable digital facsimiles of historic newspapers from the collections of the Center for Research Libraries.
Historical News
- World newspaper archive . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Forthcoming are African, European, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers. Can be cross-searched with collection: America's historical newspapers.
- Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (dLOC)Access digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876. This link opens in a new windowThis collection features more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most newspapers published in English; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Useful for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics. Titles were digitized from the American Antiquarian Society's collections.
- El Caribe Digital Archive (Dominican Republic)El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic's most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region
- Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980 . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican NewspapersThe Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
- Latin American anarchist and labour periodicals onlineThis collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
- Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España)Historical newspapers and periodicals from Spain, spanning the 17th to early 20th centuries.
- Publicações Periódicas (Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal)Digitized newspapers from the collections of the National Library of Portugal.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressThis collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
(University of Arizona University Libraries) - Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper CollectionsThe Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives at the Claire T. Carney Library, the Center for Portuguese Studies and Culture of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
- ProQuest historical newspapers . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950) every page in PDF files. - Times digital archive. This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-text facsimile of the Times (London) and its predecessors, The Daily universal register (1785-1787) and the Times, or, Daily universal register (1788). The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, philosophy, and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of news from around the world. The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. Coverage: 1941-1996. Can filter by country. - World news connection . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. - British Library newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers. - Historical guardian and observer . This link opens in a new window"The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue."--ProQuest databases.