Finding Articles on Your Topic
Columbia University Libraries provide access to many online resources. For general information about Columbia's online resources and services, click here. As a way to get started with your research, a few interdisciplinary databases are highlighted below. These resources are subscription based, so they should be accessed through the links in this guide or through CLIO by searching for the name of the resource. For more resources, check out this guide by Barnard Library here, or our in-depth guide to art history resources here.
Database Search Tips
Articles+ searches a large database of mostly full-text journals, encyclopedia and newspaper articles; this database also includes e-books and government documents.
Search Articles+ by clicking the Articles+ tab in CLIO.
Articles+ provides several forms of access, including full text and citation only. To limit your search only to full text (materials that are available for immediate use online), choose Full text online only from the Search Options box on the left of the page, as shown below.
Note that newspaper articles are excluded from the initial search results. To include them, click the x next to Not Content Type: Newspaper Articles above the search results.
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines. ProQuest includes journal articles, newspaper articles, and dissertations, among other formats. You can search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually (see below). Includes the Art, Design, & Architecture collection, as well as the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
ProQuest includes many databases, and allows you to search across all databases or only those which you select. You can choose to filter before or after searching. To select databases or see which ones you're searching, click on Databases on the top of the page.
ProQuest contains the Art, Design & Architecture Collection. To search only these or any other database(s), use the check boxes to select before searching.
This resource provides access to various interdisciplinary databases. Like ProQuest, you can search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually. EBSCOhost includes Art & Architecture Source (among other related databases) and the Avery Index.
To search only art-related databases, click Choose Databases above the search box on the EBSCOhost home page, as shown below.
Then choose the individual databases you want to search. Unlike ProQuest, which lists databases thematically, EBSCOhost lists databases alphabetically, so you will need to scan the list to find the relevant databases and select them individually as shown below.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary full-text database. Try limiting your search to Architecture & Architectural History (and/or other related disciplines) through the advanced search feature as shown below, or searching more broadly and then using the menu on the left hand side to filter your results.
Once you have found an article and opened it, to print or to search within an article on JSTOR, click on the Download PDF button as shown below, then use ctrl+F or command+F to search within.