Architecture Research: Identifying Online Resources: Images

Avery Librarians - Reference

Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Librarians

Contact:
avery@library.columbia.edu
300 Avery Hall

Online Image Collections

The list below represents some of the available online image collections. For more detailed information on searching for images, see our Image Collections Online guide.

Image Collections

ARTstor

This link opens in a new window

Digital images of plans, drawings, models and photos of architecture and man-made habitats and infrastructures, including monuments, buildings and their interiors, land and cityscapes.

Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), and Historic American Landscape Survey (HAL).
Digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials on architecture, engineering, and design.

Great Buildings Online

This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.

OnArchitecture : una seleccion de contenido original presentando la mejor arquitectura del mundo = a selection of original content featuring the best architecture in the world.

Online audiovisual service providing a detailed panorama of the world's architecture. Features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, with a selection of complementary material - documents and audiovisuals - about the main figures of contemporary architecture.

RIBApix

RIBApix is a database of exceptional and unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.

USModernist
USModernist® is a nonprofit 501C3 educational archive for the documentation, preservation, and promotion of residential Modernist architecture. With four major sections, USModernist is America’s largest open digital archive of Modernist houses and their architects. In addition to magazine articles, USModernist includes an extensive browseable gallery of images and information on projects by Modernist architects.

Last Updated: Nov 27, 2023 11:34 AM
URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/c.php?g=1017174

Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027

Phone
212-854-7309

Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu

Follow Us